Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2016, 11:34 AM
econoline econoline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 32
Default Waves Plugins disappeared from folder after creating New User

Hey People,

I've tried searching this, and have emailed Waves, but don't yet have an answer. This should be pretty easy

I created a new user on my Studio's Late 2012 iMac, running OS 10.8.5 and PT 11.3. No problems there. I went to double check that I could open and operate one of my existing mixes in the new user (which I set up for a guest engineer at the studio). When I opened my session, it said that "the following plugins were not in the plugins folder, and have been deactivated". They are all of my Waves Plugins. Every other plugin that I used on the session is just fine.

Sure enough, I checked the plugin folder where all other plugins are located... HD>Applications>Avid>Pro Tools>AAX Plugins... and there are no Waves plugins in there. When I go to my Waves folder (Waves>Plugins v9), all of my plugins are still there. I moved that Plugins v9 folder into the Avid plugins folder with the rest of the plugins that are working, but it is still giving me the "can't find plugins" message. I used to know how to fix this back in PT 7 & 8, but since we've moved on to AAX, I'm a bit lost.

I just need to know which plugins I need to move where so I can get back to my mix session and not waste a day while waiting to hear back from Waves. I have a Platinum bundle, some SSL stuff, CLA stuff, ADT, and others. I just don't know which icon to move where.

Thanks in advance!!!

-Mike
__________________
PT 11.3.0
Late 2012 iMac / Quad i7 3.1 / 16GB RAM / OS 10.8.5
Apogee Symphony 16/16
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2016, 11:53 AM
econoline econoline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 32
Default Re: Waves Plugins disappeared from folder after creating New User

Update - I've now tried every combination I can think of moving Waves plugins into the Avid plugin folder (from the whole folder to individual plugins), and restarting PT. I keep getting the same "plugins not in plugin folder" message
__________________
PT 11.3.0
Late 2012 iMac / Quad i7 3.1 / 16GB RAM / OS 10.8.5
Apogee Symphony 16/16
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2016, 06:14 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Question Re: Waves Plugins disappeared from folder after creating New User

Quote:
Originally Posted by econoline View Post
I checked the plugin folder where all other plugins are located... HD>Applications>Avid>Pro Tools>AAX Plugins... and there are no Waves plugins in there. When I go to my Waves folder (Waves>Plugins v9), all of my plugins are still there. I moved that Plugins v9 folder into the Avid plugins folder with the rest of the plugins that are working, but it is still giving me the "can't find plugins" message.
Moving that folder is not the best way to solve this problem. I suggest you move that folder back to where you found it.

Three questions:
  1. If you login as the user that existed before all of this, are the WAVES plug-ins loaded when you open the session?
  2. Is the user account that existed before all of this an adminstrator user or a standard user?
  3. Is the user account that you created an administrator user or a standard user?
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2016, 10:15 PM
econoline econoline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 32
Default Re: Waves Plugins disappeared from folder after creating New User

Thanks for the response Jonathan! I ended up having to uninstall my Waves plugs and then reinstall them, but I will answer your questions below.

1. When I went to my original (and previously only) account on the computer, and opened a session I had been working on, I was getting the same error message (plugins not in plugin folder). In other words, after I created the new user, the Waves plugins were not in the right place on either user profile.

2. The user account previous to all of this was an administrator user, and the only user ever on this computer.

3. The account that was created was a standard user, and not an administrator.

Ultimately, I have no idea why this happened. This is a studio use only computer, and is never online for browsing other than downloading software for the computer or sessions, or uploading files to be emailed. Also, to get this out of the way, this computer has never had any type of hacked plugins on it.

Either way, right now, it is running fine, and the sessions opened up as they did before the issue. I appreciate the help . If you have time and feel like letting me know what you think might have happened, I'd be interested to know to avoid the issue again!

-Mike
__________________
PT 11.3.0
Late 2012 iMac / Quad i7 3.1 / 16GB RAM / OS 10.8.5
Apogee Symphony 16/16
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2016, 02:43 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,882
Default Re: Waves Plugins disappeared from folder after creating New User

Quote:
Originally Posted by econoline View Post
Thanks for the response Jonathan! I ended up having to uninstall my Waves plugs and then reinstall them, but I will answer your questions below.

1. When I went to my original (and previously only) account on the computer, and opened a session I had been working on, I was getting the same error message (plugins not in plugin folder). In other words, after I created the new user, the Waves plugins were not in the right place on either user profile.

2. The user account previous to all of this was an administrator user, and the only user ever on this computer.

3. The account that was created was a standard user, and not an administrator.

Ultimately, I have no idea why this happened. This is a studio use only computer, and is never online for browsing other than downloading software for the computer or sessions, or uploading files to be emailed. Also, to get this out of the way, this computer has never had any type of hacked plugins on it.

Either way, right now, it is running fine, and the sessions opened up as they did before the issue. I appreciate the help . If you have time and feel like letting me know what you think might have happened, I'd be interested to know to avoid the issue again!

-Mike
Secondary users can be a problem for some software and you never know that until it rises up and bites you. This is probably what happened to you. And sometimes there is s/w that only runs well or at all when run from an admin account. Are you using the new Waves Central or the older system? Some people have had issues with WC especially on older OSX versions. Waves only supports WC on OSX 10.8.5 for RTAS format plugins. AAX format is only officially supported on Yosemite or above although it does work on Mavericks. At least it did for the initial release of WC and that may have changed since that time.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Select Waves 6.1.1 Plugins Folder sleazedc Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 07-05-2012 10:10 PM
select Waves 6.06 plugins folder in 8.0.1 a7bull 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 10-17-2009 11:47 PM
Waves plugins folder issue yop22 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-01-2009 09:43 AM
Waves 6.0.6 won't let me find plugins folder abbyin3d Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 05-20-2009 09:32 AM
Waves and Bombfacory plugins in correct folder? GW 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 06-29-2004 06:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com