Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2019, 11:08 PM
Vercingetorix Vercingetorix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rural NSW, Australia
Posts: 966
Default Guitar Playback?

Hello guys,

First off, I didn't get my problems sorted with the Guitar Input and Bias products. I had some back and forth with one of the Avid guys who responded to my original question, but, there was no resolution. I ended up having to use re-amp to stop the signal of the Eleven rack coming through into Pro-Tools altogether when using the Bias stuff.

But this question has nothing to do with that this is a new one :) Now I want to play back what I have in ProTools, you know, using transport to play the MIDI tracks, and VST drums, and loop it like a 'backing track' - fine can do that easy enough. But what I want to do is be able to play along with the 'backing track' using my guitar, either the Eleven Rack sounds or Bias tools - don't really care which - I can get the sounds I want with each, but, without recording the guitar and using the studio monitors attached to ProTools to hear the backing tracks and guitar together (again without recording).

Now is this possible? I want to do this for practice purposes because I really suck at guitar and don't want to have to continually record stuff I won't be keeping.

Thankyou and Regards.
V.
__________________
You're validating my inherent mistrust of strangers.

Schecter Hellraiser 7 Diamond - Ibanez RG7620
Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2019, 11:17 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,058
Default Re: Guitar Playback?

Easiest way is to just create another audio track and use that to play your guitar into, with track input monitoring enabled. Use duplicate track to make it easy and delete the audio on that track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2019, 02:12 AM
Vercingetorix Vercingetorix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rural NSW, Australia
Posts: 966
Default Re: Guitar Playback?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Easiest way is to just create another audio track and use that to play your guitar into, with track input monitoring enabled. Use duplicate track to make it easy and delete the audio on that track.
Yeah, I had it all set up on another track but I didn't know there was such a thing called "Track Input Monitoring".

I had to Google the term and I found a video from BenoniStudios talking about it on PT12, and "how you needed to Hit "Alt-K", I'm glad he said that because I'm using PT11 .

Thanks a lot Daryl, I was clueless and this saved me a lot of trouble and much tearing out of what's left of my hair - I had a diabetes episode recently and I lost a LOT of hair. Knowing my luck it probably won't work with my setup but I'll give it a go

Cheers.
__________________
You're validating my inherent mistrust of strangers.

Schecter Hellraiser 7 Diamond - Ibanez RG7620
Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't hear my guitar during playback 7headed Getting Started 6 06-18-2014 06:00 AM
Getting signal and dry guitar sound but no playback. gcross86 Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X 2 01-09-2013 11:22 AM
Guitar buzz on playback Cone8834 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-15-2010 07:38 AM
Guitar Input Only -- Playback Noise WesleyPipes Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 09-03-2010 05:10 PM
Can't hear guitar on playback only in record..... northwinds Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 10-29-2007 07:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com