Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2008, 05:33 AM
THE KAMEN BIZ THE KAMEN BIZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 30
Angry Robot sound when recording vocals

IM JUST GETTING STARTED USING THE 7.4 SOFTWARE....I HAVE THE MBOX2 PRO NOW AND IM A BEGINNER WITH PROTOOLS BUT NOT NEW TO RECORDING.... BUT WHEN I RECORD VOCALS USEING PROTOOLS IT MAKES A ROBOT/ECHO SOUND DURING THE PROCESS... HOW DO I FIX THIS PROBLEM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2008, 05:59 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: Robot sound when recording vocals

Sounds like latency.

As you have the pro you can select low latency monitoring, bottom of one of the menus, can't remember which???

Or, if you want FX, drop the playback buffer as low as your system will allow. LLM is much safer.

Cheers
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2008, 06:14 AM
JonesH JonesH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 159
Default Re: Robot sound when recording vocals

you can also adjust the playback balance on your MBox between "playback" (the delayed signal from pro tools) and "input" (what goes into the mic pre). Most likely you have the setting somewhere in the middle, combining non-time aligned signals wich introduce the phasing and robot fx sound you're hearing.
__________________
I just wanna do engineering...

(as opposed to make music :/ )
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2008, 07:11 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,107
Default Re: Robot sound when recording vocals

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonesH View Post
you can also adjust the playback balance on your MBox between "playback" (the delayed signal from pro tools) and "input" (what goes into the mic pre). Most likely you have the setting somewhere in the middle, combining non-time aligned signals wich introduce the phasing and robot fx sound you're hearing.
I think the mix control that you refer to is specific to USB Mboxes. The OP has the Firewire equipped Mbox Pro.

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-13-2008, 08:49 AM
RussUK RussUK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 3,724
Default Re: Robot sound when recording vocals

Yes it latency, we all battle with it in one way or another.
__________________
I work with amazing people who do amazing things.

Founder of the Expert Sites.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-14-2008, 04:04 AM
THE KAMEN BIZ THE KAMEN BIZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 30
Talking Re: Robot sound when recording vocals

thanks guys... I apreciate it....it worked:d
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After recording vocals, there is no sound during playback. Why? sfwdslashx Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 8 10-25-2012 07:21 PM
Mbox2 Win7 64bit - Robot sound RogTaylor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-03-2011 01:56 AM
Recording vocals - sound dry in song. Help with EQ, etc Mattitude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-22-2009 10:02 AM
Robot sound when playback or punching in Parisstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-19-2005 03:05 PM
Lo-Fi sound on vocals hmccabe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 06-08-2002 06:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com