Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Old 02-15-2015, 11:47 AM

Default Is it really $599/yr?

Apologies for my lack of knowledge here.

I'm currently using PT 11 HD. I used to be a Pro Tools 9/10 + CPTK owner who took advantage of Avid's offering for owners like me to upgrade to Pro Tools 11 HD software-only option. I realize most folks using Pro Tools HD have it because they bought HD/HDX hardware. After looking at the Avid store, it looks like I would have to pay $599/yr to remain an eligible HD software owner who can upgrade v12 and higher in the future. $599/yr for a software-only product? Really?

It doesn't seem logical that those of us who legitimately upgraded from PT CPTK to PT HD as a software-only product must pay the same level of support/maintenance and upgrade eligibility as HD/HDX owners.

Someone please tell me I'm mis-understanding something.
Old 02-15-2015, 11:56 AM

Default Re: Is it really $599/yr?

You are correct. $599 for HD users and $199 for Native users. Each year. Or let the plan lapse and you have to buy a new plan at full retail or go on subscription.

You do get support via email or one actual phone call per year.

Seems some users don't like the plan, considering the comments here on the DUC.

Here is the FAQ:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...FAQ&popup=true
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Old 02-15-2015, 09:34 PM

I think it is one support call per month, not per year.

Quote: