Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2013, 11:43 AM
yamahadrums yamahadrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 261
Default Steven Slate Drums 3.5 vs 4.

I had a chance to play with 3.5 for a while and honestly I am not impressed by the dynamics of the instruments. Is this fixed in v. 4 and what's new?
__________________
MacPro 2.66GHz 8Gb RAM Mac OS X 10.7.5, Pro Tools 10.3.3, DIGI 003 Factory, LogicPro 9.1.8, Tascam FW-1884, Adam A7, Roland TD-20, Yamaha SY-99, Audiotechnica ATH-M50.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2013, 01:29 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: Steven Slate Drums 3.5 vs 4.

From what I've heard, the new drums in SSD4 are better than the old ones.

But SSD4 is worth getting just so you can then get the Chris Lord Alge expansion pack. Great sounding drums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2013, 01:46 PM
yamahadrums yamahadrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 261
Default Re: Steven Slate Drums 3.5 vs 4.

That's what I've heard too, but I prefer an opinion from a real user, no offence. And CLA is another 199$. No way in the near future!
__________________
MacPro 2.66GHz 8Gb RAM Mac OS X 10.7.5, Pro Tools 10.3.3, DIGI 003 Factory, LogicPro 9.1.8, Tascam FW-1884, Adam A7, Roland TD-20, Yamaha SY-99, Audiotechnica ATH-M50.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2013, 12:43 AM
yamahadrums yamahadrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 261
Default Re: Steven Slate Drums 3.5 vs 4.

Don't kill each other to answer me, please! I feel guilty. Anyways, I just bought SSD 4 Custom. Sounds better to me and is more RAM hungry. I mean MORE. 5 times more.
__________________
MacPro 2.66GHz 8Gb RAM Mac OS X 10.7.5, Pro Tools 10.3.3, DIGI 003 Factory, LogicPro 9.1.8, Tascam FW-1884, Adam A7, Roland TD-20, Yamaha SY-99, Audiotechnica ATH-M50.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2013, 08:03 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: Steven Slate Drums 3.5 vs 4.

FYI, the CLA Expansion will work in SSD Custom as well. That's what I have.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2013, 08:06 AM
yamahadrums yamahadrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 261
Default Re: Steven Slate Drums 3.5 vs 4.

That's OK, but CLA Expansion costs 199$.
__________________
MacPro 2.66GHz 8Gb RAM Mac OS X 10.7.5, Pro Tools 10.3.3, DIGI 003 Factory, LogicPro 9.1.8, Tascam FW-1884, Adam A7, Roland TD-20, Yamaha SY-99, Audiotechnica ATH-M50.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2013, 11:29 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: Steven Slate Drums 3.5 vs 4.

It's worth it. They have sales all the time if you can wait a little bit.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-04-2013, 11:45 AM
yamahadrums yamahadrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 261
Default Re: Steven Slate Drums 3.5 vs 4.

Also there will be upgrade path from Custom and EX. Separate kits will be available. That's what I'm aiming for.
__________________
MacPro 2.66GHz 8Gb RAM Mac OS X 10.7.5, Pro Tools 10.3.3, DIGI 003 Factory, LogicPro 9.1.8, Tascam FW-1884, Adam A7, Roland TD-20, Yamaha SY-99, Audiotechnica ATH-M50.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-05-2013, 02:29 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,014
Default Re: Steven Slate Drums 3.5 vs 4.

I use SSD4 all the time i have the CLA expansion kit and i love the whole steven slate thing. People who i have recorded are blown away with their drum sound in the mixes of their song. so i would recommend purchasing it
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-05-2013, 02:34 AM
yamahadrums yamahadrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 261
Default Re: Steven Slate Drums 3.5 vs 4.

Would love to, but I cannot afford it for now. I am remixing all my songs and substitute all sounds from Roland TD-20 with SSD 4. The difference is huge.
__________________
MacPro 2.66GHz 8Gb RAM Mac OS X 10.7.5, Pro Tools 10.3.3, DIGI 003 Factory, LogicPro 9.1.8, Tascam FW-1884, Adam A7, Roland TD-20, Yamaha SY-99, Audiotechnica ATH-M50.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slate Digital and Steven Slate Drums AAX DHL AAX Plug-ins 6 04-22-2013 01:50 PM
steven slate drums 4 bchelune Pro Tools 9 4 03-07-2013 07:03 PM
Steven Slate Drums 3.5 vs 4. yamahadrums Buy & Sell 0 02-02-2013 11:39 AM
PT8 LE and Steven Slate Drums outlaw69uk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 09-30-2010 09:00 AM
Steven Slate Drums....$20 pguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-27-2010 01:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com