Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2006, 10:23 PM
guy.fi guy.fi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: milwaukee
Posts: 395
Default Trashing prefs in PT 7?

In a reply to my post a while back someone suggested that in PT7 it was no longer necessary to trash the prefs and delete databases. Is this correct?
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe
Pentium Q9550 @ 3.4 ghz
Corsair 1066 RAM


www.guyfi.com
www.flystudiosmilwaukee.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2006, 11:26 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Trashing prefs in PT 7?

I'm fairly confident that is incorrect.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2006, 12:25 AM
4times4mil 4times4mil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: No Calif. Bay Area
Posts: 201
Default Re: Trashing prefs in PT 7?

i find myself having to do it all the time!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2006, 05:41 PM
SoundHouse SoundHouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tupelo, Ms.
Posts: 43
Default Re: Trashing prefs in PT 7?

There seem to be a lot of users that have to do this on something of a regular basis. Seeing as this is a Digi recommended procedure, it would be nice if they would provide a small application that would do this for you. It would be nice to have a desktop icon that you could click on and it would find and delete all these files for you.
__________________
SoundHouse Sound Studio
AMD 64 Dual 4400+ A8N SLI-Premium 2Gb RAM >2 WD 80
G Raptor drives PTLE 8 002R + MPT
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2006, 07:33 PM
rmessick2 rmessick2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: new york
Posts: 31
Default Re: Trashing prefs in PT 7?

huy guys,what exactly is this and what does it do? (trashing prefs).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2006, 10:33 PM
4times4mil 4times4mil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: No Calif. Bay Area
Posts: 201
Default Re: Trashing prefs in PT 7?

A desktop icon would really be a pleasure to have. i don't know what the significance of the trashing is but i do know that i am reminded it's time to take out the trash when my midi notes start to become invisible while i'm editing. and it seems to happen every few hours so it's becoming routine for me.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-29-2006, 05:40 PM
Ross H Ross H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 349
Default Re: Trashing prefs in PT 7?

How do you trash preferences?

RH
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2006, 08:33 PM
4times4mil 4times4mil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: No Calif. Bay Area
Posts: 201
Default Re: Trashing prefs in PT 7?

Go to your c drive. after opening your c drive click program files. then common files. then digidesign. then dae. you will then notice a file called dae prefs. this is the file you want to delete. you can also delete all digidesign database files on all drives in your system. then empty your recycle bin and you're done until next time.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2006, 09:03 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Trashing prefs in PT 7?

There's a bit more to it than that. Details are in the General Troubleshooting thread.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-01-2006, 11:53 PM
Dogcode Dogcode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sechelt, B.C. Canada
Posts: 961
Default Re: Trashing prefs in PT 7?

Quote:
There's a bit more to it than that. Details are in the General Troubleshooting thread.
Why does`nt Digi make it easy for everyone and just make it work...........It`s a full time job just figuring out work arounds........
__________________
PT 9
Control 24
003 Rack
Mac Pro 2.66 Quad
Adam A7
Waves Gold, VSeries
Pultec Bundle
URS, McDSP
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trashing Prefs & Such baaablacksheep macOS 3 04-30-2012 07:30 PM
Trashing Prefs? tim carter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-23-2004 05:37 PM
trashing prefs kmshroom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 10-07-2003 09:09 PM
Trashing PT Prefs Rockman-Songwriter Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-21-2003 06:26 PM
Trashing Prefs in PT 6 trahern 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-23-2003 09:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com