Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2014, 08:05 AM
rjr303 rjr303 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7
Default Removing Plugins from Pro Tools 10

I recently had to remove a plugin suite from Pro Tools 10.3.2. I'm still seeing several of the plugins in the inserts. None of the plugins show up in Windows add/remove programs. I've removed all of the obvious folders from the Pro Tools installation directories. How can I remove the non-activated, unused plugins from the Pro Tools pull downs? I've been having problems with PT locking up during shutdown and some discussions I've read indicate it could be the inactive plugins.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.8 on Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Saffire Pro 40 FireWire Audio Interface
Intel i7 4 core, 16 gb ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2014, 12:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,847
Default Re: Removing Plugins from Pro Tools 10

Try this. C:>Program Files(x86)>Common Files>Digidesign>DAE>Plugins. Look for the ones you don't want(2 files for each plugin) and drag them out(to the desktop is usually handy). Then, back up on level and click on Plugins(unused) to open that folder, and drag the bad stuff from the desktop into that folder.

Since you have 10(and not sure if you had an older version of PT on this machine), you should also look in C:>Program Files(x86)>Common Files>Avid>Plugins(or something like this...my machine is a shut down for the day).

The point is to find the Plugins folder(and there will likely be 2 as described above) and remove the offending plugin files from those folders. Its your option whether you move to the Plugins(unused) folder or just delete them(but I would move until you are positive you did the right thing)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2014, 08:10 PM
rjr303 rjr303 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7
Default Re: Removing Plugins from Pro Tools 10

That definitely got me on the right track. I found plugins scattered in at least six different folders, but I was able to find them all and move them to an 'unused' folder. They no longer appear in Pro Tools and PT startup/shutdown is much faster. Thanks for the help.
Roger
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.8 on Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Saffire Pro 40 FireWire Audio Interface
Intel i7 4 core, 16 gb ram
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 ran out of CPU. Try deactivating or removing native plugins. Random3 macOS 36 09-08-2016 03:52 AM
removing plugins dn2erthmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-14-2010 07:38 AM
Plugins Folder? ( removing plugins ) test tube AUDIO 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-26-2005 12:48 AM
removing the trail plugins? surchur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-17-2004 12:27 PM
Removing Plugins LarryB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-14-2004 08:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com