Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2001, 12:37 AM
dodged forgottenn dodged forgottenn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 68
Default 888 calibration

I'm using a mix plug rig with an SSL 4000 G+. The outputs on the 888's are hitting my meters hard. My calibration level is -18. I'm considering dropping that level about 4 or 5 dB. Is it OK to cal the inputs at that same level??? I will if it's OK. Can I drop the cal on the inputs lower than that if necessary and still get good signal to Protools? Do the inputs and outputs need to be calibrated to the same level?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2001, 03:58 AM
derF derF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 309
Default Re: 888 calibration

With 5.1 Digidesign have really cocked up the line up proceedure with a desk. In 5.0 and previous you could just put it into direct output mode, send 0dB from the desk oscillator, line up inputs to -18dB, then line up the outputs back to the desk to 0dB. You can no longer do this, and so I always make the hire companies line it up!

Digidesign MUST realise that 99.9999% of studio sessions with Pro Tools use a SSL or Neve to mix with. Therefore you MUST line it up to the desk otherwise it is not truely correct.

Anyways, enough of my rantings....

It sounds like your lining up your outputs wrongly. I would download the Calibration Tool and use this to line up with. It works on the same principal as outlined above, although you'll have to select each input/output individually.

derF [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2001, 05:04 PM
dodged forgottenn dodged forgottenn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 68
Default Re: 888 calibration

Thanks for the "rantings"!!!!

I guess your thought depends on what you mean by "wrongly". I've actually calibrated the 888's two ways. I've followed the new Digidesign method to a T. First calibration mode. Signal generator set to -18 sending to a bus. 24 aux inputs (or however many 888's I have at the time) set with before mentioned bus as the input source. Each aux input set to output to the direct channel of the 888 it correlates to(1-24 as 24 seems to be a good number). Into the console skipping the channel input but still hitting the meters (insert return or tape monitor input) and adjusting the outs on the 888's to zero VU on the meters.

Now -18 is the Digi recomended tone level for signal generator. Since the outs have been too hot, I know I can send a tone 4 or 5 dB less (i.e. -23) to compensate for the high output level rather than have to turn the line input down 4 dB on every track on the SSL when it comes time to mix. Or I could stay with the -18dB tone and and adjust the meters to -4 VU.

Back to my first example. If I stick to the Digidesign way, I send the same tone back out of the desk as direct as possible skipping all pots and faders. I patch directly out the group output of each channel back into the 888's. I make 24 new aux's, select the input of each to it's corresponding 888 "direct" input. Outputs to any bus other than one already being used and adjust to -18. Now adjust levels in Digidesign to -18. If, as I mentioned before, I send a -23 dB signal out of signal generator to cal the outs, and then continue in the Digi fashion and adjust my inputs to -23, will they be too low to get good signal into protools or mess up my gain structure by "bottlenecking" the flow. Instead of this, can I just switch the the output of signal generator back to -18 instead of -23 to cal the inputs, thereby achieving the same amount of the Digi recomended input level. Really if I want to do this, it's just the same as adjusting the level of the meters on the desk receiving from the 888 outputs to -5 VU. Right??? So does anyone find any fault or concurence with my hypothesized methods??

So here's where to introduce a whole new level of complexity to the situation. Now I don't trust Digi calibration mode because I realized you are only calibrating the outputs of the 888's to the desk meters. The inputs are calibrated in Pro Tools. It seems to me that it is best to cal both the outputs and the inputs to the desk VU meters for true desk correlation.

So I go out the the 888's in the same fashion as before, except this time at 5 dB less (-23 on the signal generator). Cal the meters to 0VU. Here is the change. I use the desk oscillator set to cal level patched out my desk group outputs into the corresponding 888 inputs. I route them in Protools straight out the corresponding 888 outputs back into the same signal path of the console as before, adjusting the 888 inputs to 0dB on the desk meters. Any faults with this???

Maybe I need a better "attention-grabbing" subject line like "Do any of you suckers trust calibration mode?" to get people's responses? It's like plotting pickup lines for women (ha,ha).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2001, 11:08 AM
dodged forgottenn dodged forgottenn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 68
Default Re: 888 calibration

bump
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibration how to? Terry Wetzel General Discussion 8 08-03-2015 05:02 PM
c/24 and 192 io calibration raga2000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 07-24-2007 04:00 PM
What are you using for Calibration?? SHIRK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-23-2003 01:26 AM
calibration joestudio ICON & C|24 0 04-27-2002 08:32 PM
Calibration JLEpperson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-08-2001 11:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com