Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2014, 04:14 AM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,127
Default Yamaha DM2000 as HUI - Faders

Is anyone here currently using the DM2000 as a HUI controller for Pro Tools?

I am trying to find if the faders of the DM2000, while in the Pro Tools Remote Layer:
  • go up to +12dB?
  • have 10-bit resolution?
  • Does the fact that the comms with the computer is via USB make the response a bit sluggish (as opposed to the Ethernet PCs, D-Commands, etc)?
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2014, 04:20 AM
Audioartist Audioartist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 341
Default Re: Yamaha DM2000 as HUI - Faders

Yes, I am. +6 on dm2000 =+12 in PT. Dont know which resolution but its enough. Usb is ok, but you need to have faders properly calibrated otherwise it will be a bit jumpy. Plug-in control is unfortunatly unusable, it get stuck in one bank of faders, can not switch between them. Let me know if you find a workaround.
__________________
D-control ES 32 - Venue Profile 48x24 - S3L-X - Yamaha DM2000 - Artist mix and control - HD7 accel - HDX2 / Magma EB3T
HD native thunderbolt
PT10HD 10.3.8. - PT11HD 11.3.2
2xHD madi - 2xHD omni -
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2014, 06:55 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: Yamaha DM2000 as HUI - Faders

It is only good for faders. We've got an 02R96 which is identical in terms of HUI. HUI is 8 bit fader resolution, which means 256 steps. The bottom of the fader travel has horrible resolution, the last couple of steps are something like 10db each. As long as you're working above -20 on the fader its not so bad. Being able to scrub and operate the transport is nice. You cannot (at least I've not found a way) switch PT automation modes. Plugin control is indeed useless. Panner stick is not connected through HUI, rotary controlers are not touch sensitive.

On the plus side, it is nice to have deep functionality, routing, and surround monitoring capabilities of a big console with HUI thrown in, in a fairly compact package that retains value even in a mostly Pro Tools environment.

USB works very well. There is some latency due to the midi protocol but unless you're moving a bunch of faders at the same time it is not as noticeable as the latency from delay compensation, which is noticeable on all controllers.

You can do some interesting things too, like midi-dump console presets used with a particular Pro Tools session directly into that session. Keep it on a midi track and, dump the data back into the console when you bring a project out of archive.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2014, 02:28 PM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,127
Default Re: Yamaha DM2000 as HUI - Faders

Cheers all for the reply back.

I spent some time reading the DM2000V2 manual today and some time on the O2R96 as well. According to the manual automation mode can be changed, trim as well.

Some people have mention latter versions of HUI having 10-bit fader resolution. I hear you postman about your desk and I am assuming it might be the same for the DM2000. But how could I find out for sure?
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2014, 07:44 PM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: Yamaha DM2000 as HUI - Faders

Quote:
According to the manual automation mode can be changed, trim as well.
I want to learn how!

I'm not sure about 10 bit fader resolution question. It depends on Yamaha. I believe the HUI spec allows full high-rez midi controllers. Faders are treated as any other midi controller, and a later midi optional spec for controllers allows 14 bits, or 16384 steps. HUI I believe will allow that. The original midi spec is only 7 bits, or 128 steps. 10 bits would be 1024 steps. I'll try to remember to check my 02R96 manual tomorrow and see if I've given accurate information in my earlier post. Actually, I hope I'm wrong in my earlier post! I'd love to see our 02R96 act more like a real controller.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2014, 12:07 AM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,127
Default Re: Yamaha DM2000 as HUI - Faders

On the DM2000, it is the Auto button along with the rec arm keys. On the O2R96 it is the Auto button along with the user defined keys. Check the manual. There is a chapter dedicated just to the PT layer (20 or 22).
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-15-2014, 12:16 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,985
Default Re: Yamaha DM2000 as HUI - Faders

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
Some people have mention latter versions of HUI having 10-bit fader resolution.
That spec is MCU (Mackie Control Unit) and supports 10-bit fader resolution. Pro Tools supports only HUI not MCU. MCU competes more with Avid's Eucon, so don't expect it will ever be supported.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2014, 06:00 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: Yamaha DM2000 as HUI - Faders

Quote:
On the O2R96 it is the Auto button along with the user defined keys.
Thanks! I'll check that out next opportunity.
Quote:
Check the manual.
Of course! The manual! I guess I needed the reminder.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2014, 04:42 PM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,127
Default Re: Yamaha DM2000 as HUI - Faders

Hey Darryl. Thanks for this reminder. Of course...

8-bit resolution and +6dB faders are out out of the question.
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M Powered Yamaha DM2000 lululu Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 06-07-2005 07:41 AM
Protools 6 and Yamaha DM2000 dopplerjuanc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 02-04-2004 09:52 AM
Yamaha DM2000 and Protools NK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 12-11-2002 07:48 PM
HD and Yamaha DM2000 (aka 96k 02R) AE Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 07-11-2002 10:05 AM
Yamaha DM2000 klaatu Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-10-2002 08:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com