Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #381  
Old 06-26-2019, 12:27 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,114
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

So, Avid. With 5 days to go, what is the official reinstatement policy?
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #382  
Old 06-26-2019, 02:16 PM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 613
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
So, Avid. With 5 days to go, what is the official reinstatement policy?
If I'm not mistaken. You let your plan expire, you're paying FULL PRICE to rejoin. This is such poor policy on Avid's part.
__________________
Justin
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2010 Mac Pro Tower Intel Xeon 12 core 3.33 GHz, 64 GB macOS Sierra PCIe SSD 256GB Boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.4 | HD Native Card | Digi 192 Analog & 192 Digital Blue | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Waves DLI, Impact Server, Horizon, Rode K2. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #383  
Old 06-26-2019, 02:41 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 741
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

So you are moving to a DAW that trying to be like..... Pro Tools that is hilarious!!! it seems to be the over riding issue here.... Reaper trying to be Pro Tools, S1 trying to be like Pro Tools.... prolly why I went with Cubase



Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsexton View Post
My experience was quite the opposite. I've been demoing S1 4.5 for about a week now and I haven't once found anything that made me want to open Pro Tools again. They even have a setting that enables all of the Pro Tools shortcuts to work in S1!

I really like the routing and plugin browser. I'm liking the workflow better I think.

The big things for me is no I/O limit and the monitoring latency is soo much better. I've done some recording just monitoring thru the software and it works really well. Reminds me of my old TDM system.

All this and no heavy handed marketing. I'm probably going to do the crossgrade instead of reupping my PT support plan.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #384  
Old 06-26-2019, 02:44 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 741
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gnjlee View Post
Does that mean we will be getting something past 19.5?
2019.6 ready for download
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #385  
Old 06-26-2019, 02:46 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 741
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Yeah, I wouldn't blush for wanting my money back, it's not like I'm increasing the price of a deal that was closed a long time ago. I'm parking this PT version after Avid finishes giving me the year of updates they owe me.
don't need the latest or greatest to record music... ill park when they stop supporting the perp lic.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #386  
Old 06-26-2019, 02:57 PM
gnjlee gnjlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 174
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
2019.6 ready for download
Oh geez I missed that! Thanks for the heads up.
Reply With Quote
  #387  
Old 06-26-2019, 02:58 PM
gnjlee gnjlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 174
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
don't need the latest or greatest to record great music... ill park when they stop supporting the perp lic.
Hopefully that day never comes. I modified your statement slightly:)
Reply With Quote
  #388  
Old 06-26-2019, 03:05 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 741
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gnjlee View Post
Hopefully that day never comes. I modified your statement slightly:)
Haha.... that too
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #389  
Old 06-26-2019, 03:31 PM
LightWing's Avatar
LightWing LightWing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 515
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
I spent a considerable amount of time researching DAW’s including Studio One, I thought it was a real step backwards and reminded me of Cubasis on my iPad. It will be a while before it comes close to what PT is now and by then PT would have moved on. Did they ever get it to work with their StudioLive desks like they promise they would about 3 years back? When I last checked about a year ago they hadn’t and they had some scathing customers going off on their community website. Anyways good luck to you.
Can you open MULTIPLE sessions in PT? Uh...no. In S1 you can and S1 4.5 is great. Consider giving it a revisit since ALOT has changed for the much, much better.
__________________
Patrick

www.LightWingStudios.com

Musical Instrument Protection Accessories...Made In America.

AxeShield HD, AmpShield HD, KeyShield HD, AxeSak, AxeGlove & AxeCap

Win 10 Pro, PT 2019.6 Native, Presonus Studio One 4.5, Dell Precision T5500, Dual Processors (12 Cores), 72GB RAM, 4@500GB SSD, 2@4TB HD, Nvidia 2GB HDMI Card, Vizio 39" TV as Monitor, Presonus AudioBox USB Interface, Mackie HR-828 Monitors, Katana Head, Fishman Triple Play, AIR Music & East West Plugins, 9 Guitars...& an AMAZING wife. :)
Reply With Quote
  #390  
Old 06-26-2019, 03:32 PM
LightWing's Avatar
LightWing LightWing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 515
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
So, Avid. With 5 days to go, what is the official reinstatement policy?
Crickets. :)
__________________
Patrick

www.LightWingStudios.com

Musical Instrument Protection Accessories...Made In America.

AxeShield HD, AmpShield HD, KeyShield HD, AxeSak, AxeGlove & AxeCap

Win 10 Pro, PT 2019.6 Native, Presonus Studio One 4.5, Dell Precision T5500, Dual Processors (12 Cores), 72GB RAM, 4@500GB SSD, 2@4TB HD, Nvidia 2GB HDMI Card, Vizio 39" TV as Monitor, Presonus AudioBox USB Interface, Mackie HR-828 Monitors, Katana Head, Fishman Triple Play, AIR Music & East West Plugins, 9 Guitars...& an AMAZING wife. :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Important Update on Upcoming Creative Tools Price Adjustments | 7.1.19 Avid General Announcements 1 06-27-2019 11:47 AM
Mbox Gain Issues and Protools Issues (Bounce to Disk and Knob/Pot adjustments) Lucky Bastard Getting Started 6 01-16-2014 03:29 PM
Protools 8HD upgrade price? pablotec Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 10-08-2008 12:30 PM
Protools HD to "HD II" upgrade price speculation....? N.E.R.D Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-12-2007 05:13 PM
G4 price drop in July? Mike Brosco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 28 07-10-2002 11:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com