Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #351  
Old 04-12-2017, 05:04 PM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Avid Core Audio with HDX/HD Native on Yosemite/later Mac OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by steins View Post
Why is that the way it should be? I for one would like to use Spotify, SoundMiner and Pro Tools at the same time using the Omni HD output. As I can do now with PT HDN 12.5.2 and the new HD 12.7.1 driver, but not with Pro Tools 12.7 and HD 12.7.1 driver on my HDX system.

BTW, Avid lists this under "Known issues". Things defined as an issue implies a fix sometimes in the future, doesn't it?

Stein Tore
My Bad then Stein,

But let me understand.

You can have Pro tools HD software open with playback engine HD Driver, and have the audio midi setup using the same hardware for you using listen Spotify, Soundminer, iTunes, etc...
Is that it?

Or you're using the Pro tools aggregate device where the HD Driver is there and in the Pro tools you can select that aggregate device and use all those app at the same time?

(I never ever used the Avid core audio, I always used a digital cable from my mac pro to my optical spdif in of my Interface, and I can have Pro tools open, and all the other 3rd party apps at the same time. And even with PT Closed, HD omni have a offline mixer where you can route spdif to you main Monitor and Headphones)

Check Image

But yet, it nice that Avid is doing this tweaks to the new driver.
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #352  
Old 04-13-2017, 01:11 AM
steins steins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 374
Default Re: Avid Core Audio with HDX/HD Native on Yosemite/later Mac OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Bernardo View Post
My Bad then Stein,

But let me understand.

You can have Pro tools HD software open with playback engine HD Driver, and have the audio midi setup using the same hardware for you using listen Spotify, Soundminer, iTunes, etc...
Is that it?
Yes, with Pro Tools 12.5.2 and the new HD Driver 12.7.1.

Quote:
Or you're using the Pro tools aggregate device where the HD Driver is there and in the Pro tools you can select that aggregate device and use all those app at the same time?
No, I don't use aggregate devices in my normal workflow.

Like you, I´ve been going digital from the mac to to the Omni interface in order to monitor offline. This works great on the Omni interface since it has that feature. However, I also have a HDX system with 192´s, which doesn't have that feature. In order to monitor Spotify, I have to use an aux input in Pro Tools. This is workable, but it would be so much more convenient if Spotify (or any other app) and Pro Tools could share the same physical output.

I guess it could be argued that this is some sort of safety net which stops other apps from interfering with what's coming from Pro Tools. But it would be nice to have a choice .

Stein Tore
__________________
Stein Tore Sønsteli
Studio at home: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018 (HDN), Mac Pro 5.1 OS X High Sierra, Avid I/O's, D-Command ES 8-fader.
Studio at work: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018 (HDX-1), Mac Mini 2018 OS X Mojave, RedNet/Dante I/O's, S6 24-fader.
Reply With Quote
  #353  
Old 04-13-2017, 03:16 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,536
Default Re: Avid Core Audio with HDX/HD Native on Yosemite/later Mac OS

Wow, strange considering the HD Driver isn't multi client yet. Will have to try this!!
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #354  
Old 04-13-2017, 03:40 PM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Avid Core Audio with HDX/HD Native on Yosemite/later Mac OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by steins View Post
Yes, with Pro Tools 12.5.2 and the new HD Driver 12.7.1.



No, I don't use aggregate devices in my normal workflow.

Like you, I´ve been going digital from the mac to to the Omni interface in order to monitor offline. This works great on the Omni interface since it has that feature. However, I also have a HDX system with 192´s, which doesn't have that feature. In order to monitor Spotify, I have to use an aux input in Pro Tools. This is workable, but it would be so much more convenient if Spotify (or any other app) and Pro Tools could share the same physical output.

I guess it could be argued that this is some sort of safety net which stops other apps from interfering with what's coming from Pro Tools. But it would be nice to have a choice .

Stein Tore
Ok,

I've tested it.

You loose all the DSP that your cards could use, it's using only i/o nothing more, no delay compensation for i/o in HD native, no 256 voices meter in system usage. The HD Omni in this mode it's Orange instead of Green as usual.

It's nice, but my trusty digital cable FOR ME it's the best choice :)

But thanks for the tip.

And I'm using PT 12.7.1 even if I'd like to use I couldn't ehehe

about HDX It could be that the card is more difficult to coding and bypass everything in DSP to only let pass audio without passing/using any DSP.

Cheers
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #355  
Old 05-09-2017, 06:59 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 991
Default Re: Avid Core Audio with HDX/HD Native on Yosemite/later Mac OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Bernardo View Post
Ok,

I've tested it.

You loose all the DSP that your cards could use, it's using only i/o nothing more, no delay compensation for i/o in HD native, no 256 voices meter in system usage. The HD Omni in this mode it's Orange instead of Green as usual.

It's nice, but my trusty digital cable FOR ME it's the best choice :)

But thanks for the tip.

And I'm using PT 12.7.1 even if I'd like to use I couldn't ehehe

about HDX It could be that the card is more difficult to coding and bypass everything in DSP to only let pass audio without passing/using any DSP.

Cheers
Interesting I tried the digital cable but unfortunately with the 2 channel limit on the OMNI, that meant I could not have my Bricasti M7 connected AES .
But the good news for me having PT open while playing 3rd party audio is not a requirement for me I just close PT
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.6 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 01-23-2018 at 06:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #356  
Old 10-18-2017, 09:30 PM
rubenmarcano rubenmarcano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 11
Default Re: Avid Core Audio with HDX/HD Native on Yosemite/later Mac OS

Hey it’s Avid !!! You always have to pay 🤣🤣🤣


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Core Audio HD Driver Breaks Maschine in Yosemite ronwasserman macOS 41 12-10-2015 04:05 PM
Native instruments Maschine not opening in Yosemite OS bc of Avid Core audio Driver? amos922 Pro Tools 12 4 06-18-2015 12:27 PM
Avid hd native core card used $1200 Killbert Buy & Sell 3 01-14-2014 06:16 PM
AVID HD NATIVE PCIe CORE CARD CHEAP!!! Killbert Buy & Sell 0 01-09-2014 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com