Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-04-2010, 04:49 PM
tech_head tech_head is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Hayward, Ca.
Posts: 274
Default Re: Pro Tools 9!

They never fixed the bugs in the last releases. So am I supposed to pay for a new release just to get crash problems fixed?

NOT!

Here is a novel idea.... Fix outstanding bugs!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-04-2010, 04:50 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Pro Tools 9!

There are now keystrokes for NEW PLAYLIST and DUPLICATE PLAYLIST

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-04-2010, 04:50 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,482
Default Re: Pro Tools 9!

Hi,

What was the point of a native card just a few months ago


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-04-2010, 04:50 PM
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,075
Default Re: Pro Tools 9!

I had to get back to a session.... still no offline bouncing? How many voices now... not how many tracks.... how many voices?

no offline bouncing? still at 192 voices?
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-04-2010, 04:51 PM
woodsdenis woodsdenis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 506
Default Re: Pro Tools 9!

Available NOW. One installer for all versions, unlocked via ilok.

Midi the same as existing HD
__________________
Denis

Mac Pro 3.3 hexacore
24 gb RAM
Lion
PT 10 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-04-2010, 04:56 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Pro Tools 9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

What was the point of a native card just a few months ago

Chris
There are a couple of HD only features which Native HD gives you without TDM...

1) Track INPUT Buttons
2) Dynamic voice allocation (voice stealing)

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-04-2010, 05:00 PM
relaxo relaxo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Pro Tools 9!

One giant step for home studios, one micro step for HD rooms. PT8 finally threw a bone to the composers, PT9 is all about the LE guys. PT10 is gonna be the big guy's turn again. Can't wait!!!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-04-2010, 05:01 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: Pro Tools 9!

I'm glad they made the move that they did for LE. HUUUGEE improvement for LE users. Very glad for them.

I don't see a lot of differences for the current HD TDM users. I guess if I had a laptop it would be cool. But I was kind of hoping that they would be adding more workflow features. The upgrade is more for the HD users too, which may not be worth it for me this time around.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-04-2010, 05:02 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: Pro Tools 9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by relaxo View Post
One giant step for home studios, one micro step for HD rooms. PT8 finally threw a bone to the composers, PT9 is all about the LE guys.
Bingo.
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-04-2010, 05:02 PM
woodsdenis woodsdenis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 506
Default Re: Pro Tools 9!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rail Jon Rogut View Post
There are a couple of HD only features which Native HD gives you without TDM...

1) Track INPUT Buttons
2) Dynamic voice allocation (voice stealing)

Rail
What I gather is that PT9 + new CPTK will give you all existing HD software features VCA/Automation etc. The Native card gives you latency free etc as Rail said.
__________________
Denis

Mac Pro 3.3 hexacore
24 gb RAM
Lion
PT 10 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com