Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2005, 02:36 PM
RobN RobN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 117
Default Running phones w/002?

Alright. Here's a (probably) dumb question: Can you run headphones from the analog outs of the 002? I may need to use my sennheisers in a session before I can get my phone's amp in, and ,since it will only be 3 or 4 people, I may be scrambling.
__________________
Digi 002
Macbook Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2005, 06:39 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,893
Default Re: Running phones w/002?

RobN,
Sorry, your question isn't very clear..
The 002 has a built in headphone amp. Why not use that ? And yes, you can also route your monitor mix to any pairs of analog outs, feed an amplifier from there. ( even a receiver will do ). Your cans should be powered from it's speaker output.

happy tooling,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2005, 10:26 AM
RobN RobN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 117
Default Re: Running phones w/002?

Sorry for the unclear post. I mean is it OK to run 32 ohm phones out of my 002's outs for the performers, not myself. I am going to have a session with 3 performers and I don't have my phones amp yet. I am afraid that either the +4 would be too much for my phones or their resistance would put strain on my outs. I may have to run through a borrowed live board instead.
__________________
Digi 002
Macbook Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2005, 01:00 AM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,607
Default Re: Running phones w/002?

Set up 3 sends on each track. Have those sends go to outputs 3-5 (or whatever you want to use). Set the send level to a decent level, and mix from the sends faders for the musician's custom phone mix. Your level won't hurt your phones if you set it that way, unless you set all your sends to +12 dB.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2005, 10:27 AM
RobN RobN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 117
Default Re: Running phones w/002?

That's what I was thinking.
I heard somewhere (don't ask where, cuz I can't remember) that some phones have been known to cause non-headphone amp equipment to fizzle over time because of their resistance to the signal. My Sennheisers are rated at 32 ohms, which is not high, but I am wondering if this is so.
__________________
Digi 002
Macbook Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2005, 10:11 PM
RobN RobN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 117
Default Re: Running phones w/002?

Got an message from Digi support saying that the outs should not damage the phones or vice-versa but they won't get much gain. Sounds OK for an impromptu thing.
__________________
Digi 002
Macbook Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no audio thru phones chriscarrico Post - Surround - Video 0 07-12-2009 01:45 PM
The Best Head Phones... TiPo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 35 02-29-2008 12:47 PM
Head phones MikeSoloway 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-24-2007 08:11 PM
cell phones stormmusic General Discussion 6 09-15-2005 06:25 AM
:Phones::EditPack: multipro ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 08-25-2002 11:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com