Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2004, 10:18 AM
proxy proxy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 406
Default Shortcut for split at cursor

Hi,

Anyone know a way (keboard shortcut?) to split a selected region at the playback-head, one that works when you are in the mode were selection & playback-head are independent? I'm working on a video project with lots n' lots of edits that need corresponding frame-accurate audio edits and my mousing-hand is about to fall off.

I'm due to hit the manual again for a reload, but as I'm in the thick of it right now, does anyone know this one? I'm on TDM 5.3.1.

Thanks!

- Proxy
__________________
G4 dual 1ghz QS (1.5gig RAM) / OSX v10.3.9 / HD4 / AD8K / PT v6.9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2004, 11:19 AM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: Shortcut for split at cursor

Whenever the playback cursor gets to where you want to cut, hit the down arrow and that will drop the edit insertion cursor at that point in time. Then just use the seperate region command, Cmd+E. Have fun.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2004, 11:25 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Shortcut for split at cursor

In your preferences, set Auto name separated regions - then you can use Command+E to split a region, or in command focus mode - you can just hit the B key... you simply place the cursor at the position inside the region you want to split, or make a selection inside a region which you want to make into a new region.

You can find a link to a list of keyboard commands in your Help menu.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2004, 01:53 PM
proxy proxy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 406
Default Re: Shortcut for split at cursor

Hey,

Thank you both - that plus "0" on the main keyboard hooks me up! Thanks again.

- Proxy
__________________
G4 dual 1ghz QS (1.5gig RAM) / OSX v10.3.9 / HD4 / AD8K / PT v6.9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard shortcut - split stereo track into 2 mono critza macOS 4 02-12-2013 02:04 PM
Keyboard Shortcut to tab cursor to next grid line? stpete111 Pro Tools 10 12 11-06-2012 09:33 AM
Locate playback cursor shortcut? bublabs Tips & Tricks 1 06-08-2007 05:26 AM
D-Control 32 split or no split? Don Geppert ICON & C|24 8 01-30-2007 10:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com