Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | Intro Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-04-2017, 12:13 PM

Default Trying to view playback engine stops Pro Tools First

Hello,
I am relatively new to Pro Tools First. I started with version 12.8.1 on my Windows 10 system; I utilize a Focusrite Scarlet 2i2 as an audio interface for my electric guitars and a digital piano. Applicable drivers were downloaded from Focusrite.

To get my Yeti USB microphone to function with Pro Tools First I downloaded and configured ASIO4ALL. I was able to record with this mic into Pro Tools.

What is currently broken is: Selecting main menu item Setup -> Playback Engine. Whenever this is attempted, a dialog box displays stating "Pro Tools Application has stopped working." The software then closes.

I did upgrade to Pro Tools First 12.8.2 and while pressing "N" on start-up, was able to see the Playback Engine dialog box, but only 1 time, enabling me to switch drivers. Unfortunately pressing "N" now does not let me get to that dialog box. Could this be a corrupted configuration issue? I am not certain how to progress at this point. Any advice would be appreciated.
Old 11-06-2017, 07:58 AM

Wink Re: Trying to view playback engine stops Pro Tools First

You can try deleting your preferences:

Go to C:Users > *Your User Name* > AppData > Roaming > Avid and delete the Pro Tools folder.

AppData is a hidden folder, so you may just want to enter it in file explorer.

ASIO4ALL is great for getting things up and running, but is not the best solution for a solid, working system. I'm sure you want to use your Yeti, but you would most likely get better performance and system stability using a mic plugged into your Focusrite interface.

System Details