Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2007, 06:14 AM
Berrado Berrado is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 27
Default M-Powered 7.1 + Delta 1010lt: optimizing performance?

So, I just tried recording for the first time on our new 1010lt / MPowered system, and recording 8 simultaneous tracks proved to be a problem. We could always get one take, but as soon as we tried recording a second one (or hit "play" with the tracks rec enabled), the computer went on hold for several seconds, and then either gave me DAE Error -36 or told me the drive was to slow or fragmented to record, at which point I had to restart Pro Tools to get it to record again. Please note that this is a recently formatted, nearly empty hard disk (and it's not the system disk, it's a second internal 120 giga drive), and it's a Mac OS Extended (Journaled) volume. Our Mac is running 10.4.8, and it's a Power PC G4, dual processor, with about 800Mhz and about 800mb of RAM. I know it's not a lot, but the session was at 44.1k, 24 bits, and I've done far more intense things than eight simultaneous tracks of 44 / 24 on far lesser systems in old macs using old interfaces. I tried several settings of buffer size and CPU usage with little difference between them.

Anyone got any ideas about what I could do to optimize the system performance? I'm already starting to fear that my plug-in filled mixes will be a problem in this machine.
__________________
Bernardo Pacheco

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2007, 06:17 PM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: M-Powered 7.1 + Delta 1010lt: optimizing performance?

Did you already go through the system optimization tips in the general troubleshooting thread above?

If your audio drive is a slave to your system drive on the stock ATA bus you won't get much if any performance increase over recording onto the system drive since ATA is incapable of accessing two drives simultaniously on the same bus.

You don't need journaling on an audio drive, and turning it off may help.

More RAM wouldn't hurt either. Tiger takes 1GB just to run decent on it's own.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools M-Powered Essential 8 + Delta 1010LT davebelling Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 02-06-2012 04:00 PM
Looking to move to PC so I can use a Delta 1010LT jj5000 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 12-09-2009 06:42 AM
PT and Delta 1010LT ziggy1621 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 01-03-2008 06:26 PM
Multiple Delta 1010LT Cards and M-Powered 7.3 cwsand Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 01-05-2007 10:37 PM
Delta 1010LT and 10.4.6 jbmelby Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 04-23-2006 09:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com