Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-23-2019, 04:56 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,051
Default Re: Studio One 4/Artist Mix/Mojave

Mackie Control should work and does for many...we are still looking at why it doesn't for others.
S1 will not work with the Mix side by side, too many differences in the code, unfortunately.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-24-2019, 02:05 PM
BrianGasacao's Avatar
BrianGasacao BrianGasacao is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hayward, CA - USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Studio One 4/Artist Mix/Mojave

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Baird View Post
Yeah, I tried both. Still no MIDI ports.
Hi Peter,

Can you try this:

1. In Audio Midi Setup, select the Euphonix Midi Device and delete it.
2. Now uninstall EuControl and restart your computer.
3. After restart, reinstall EuControl.
4. Setup StudioOne and make sure you are using MackieControl not HUI in Eucon Preference Panel.

Hope this helps!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-24-2019, 05:03 PM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 253
Default Re: Studio One 4/Artist Mix/Mojave

Will do tomorrow am. I'll let you know how it goes.

Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PT Ultimate 2019.5, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 64GB OS 10.14.5, HD Native, HD OMNI, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 18.3, Presonus 32R, Studio One 4.5.1, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.6 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 19.5 Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-25-2019, 01:22 AM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 253
Default Re: Studio One 4/Artist Mix/Mojave

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianGasacao View Post
Hi Peter,

Can you try this:

1. In Audio Midi Setup, select the Euphonix Midi Device and delete it.
2. Now uninstall EuControl and restart your computer.
3. After restart, reinstall EuControl.
4. Setup StudioOne and make sure you are using MackieControl not HUI in Eucon Preference Panel.

Hope this helps!
Brian,

Did exactly what you asked in that order. S1 still doesn't see any EUCON Midi ports. I opened up Audio Midi Setup to check, and interestingly the EuControl installer did not install a new Euphonix Midi Device. I'm assuming it needs one to build the Midi-to-Ethernet bridge.

Another interesting side effect, the re-install borked the network settings for the ethernet port I have the controllers hooked up to. It's always set to a fixed address, but for some reason the re-install switched it to DHCP which caused the system to lose communication with the panels.

Going to try installing S6 as well as the Artist panels just to see what happens.

Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PT Ultimate 2019.5, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 64GB OS 10.14.5, HD Native, HD OMNI, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 18.3, Presonus 32R, Studio One 4.5.1, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.6 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 19.5 Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-01-2019, 10:10 AM
HeAniganist HeAniganist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Konstanz
Posts: 1
Default Re: Studio One 4/Artist Mix/Mojave

I have the same problem:

- I removed the whole EUCON package, deleted the Euphonix MIDI device.
- I installed recent EUCON package new, with all the reboots for deinstall and install
- Tried it several times, but I did not get the Euphonix MIDI device 'ready'. It's always greyed out.

Tried it with Mackie and HUI in the EUCON system settings for S1. In S1 I added new external controller and connected them with Control Surface Port 1-4 (tried every Port)

=> It seems, S1 sees the Surface Ports, but eucon does not 'translate' or stops the traffic or ...

BTW: I debugged with the Midi Monitor App and this is interesting: If i reconnect the external devices in my S1 settings (4 Mackie Controls, just in case ...) I monitor:

_____
19:04:36.141 From Euphonix Port 1 SysEx Unknown Manufacturer 18 bytes F0 00 00 66 14 1B 00 03 00 02 01 09 05 07 00 07 07 F7
19:04:36.150 From Euphonix Port 1 SysEx Unknown Manufacturer 18 bytes F0 00 00 66 14 1B 00 03 00 02 01 09 05 07 00 07 07 F7
19:04:36.169 From Euphonix Port 2 SysEx Unknown Manufacturer 18 bytes F0 00 00 66 14 1B 00 03 00 02 01 09 05 07 00 07 07 F7
19:04:36.170 From Euphonix Port 2 SysEx Unknown Manufacturer 18 bytes F0 00 00 66 14 1B 00 03 00 02 01 09 05 07 00 07 07 F7
19:04:36.170 From Euphonix Port 3 SysEx Unknown Manufacturer 18 bytes F0 00 00 66 14 1B 00 03 00 02 01 09 05 07 00 07 07 F7
19:04:36.170 From Euphonix Port 3 SysEx Unknown Manufacturer 18 bytes F0 00 00 66 14 1B 00 03 00 02 01 09 05 07 00 07 07 F7
19:04:36.170 From Euphonix Port 4 SysEx Unknown Manufacturer 18 bytes F0 00 00 66 14 1B 00 03 00 02 01 09 05 07 00 07 07 F7
19:04:36.170 From Euphonix Port 4 SysEx Unknown Manufacturer 18 bytes F0 00 00 66 14 1B 00 03 00 02 01 09 05 07 00 07 07 F7
____

I'm using all recent software releases, every update is installed. Of course I always restartet the apps when I changed any settings.

I deactivated any running firewall (macos firewall, little snitch), just in case ....

So, now I have no more ideas what to test next ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-04-2019, 03:41 PM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 253
Default Re: Studio One 4/Artist Mix/Mojave

Installed 19.7 on the off chance it might fix the midi issue, no luck.

Shouldn't the installer place a EUCON midi device in Audio Midi Setup? There isn't one in mine. I don't really know how EUCON makes the ethernet-midi connection at all, so I have no idea. If it is critical, is there a place to download that module, or another way to force it to be installed?

I really don't want to sell the mix panels, especially now after the new panels have been announced and the Artist stuff will probably be worth considerably less--but I need something to control Studio One.

Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PT Ultimate 2019.5, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 64GB OS 10.14.5, HD Native, HD OMNI, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 18.3, Presonus 32R, Studio One 4.5.1, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.6 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 19.5 Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-05-2019, 11:22 AM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 253
Default Re: Studio One 4/Artist Mix/Mojave

Eddie and Brian,

I uninstalled all the EUCON apps and installed 18.3. The Euphonix MIDI widget is now back in Audio MIDI Setup and not greyed out.

18.3 required that I revert back to 15.4 firmware, so I did that. After the reversion, EuControl sees the panels and Studio One can now connect to them. Unfortunately they won't wake up for S1 under either the HUI or Mackie Control option. The panels wake up for Pro Tools just fine.

Not sure why they won't work for S1, but at least now you know that 19.5 and 19.7 do not install the Euphonix MIDI widget in Audio MIDI Setup.

Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PT Ultimate 2019.5, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 64GB OS 10.14.5, HD Native, HD OMNI, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 18.3, Presonus 32R, Studio One 4.5.1, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.6 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 19.5 Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-05-2019, 11:56 AM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 253
Default Re: Studio One 4/Artist Mix/Mojave

Okay, so here's a weird one. After rolling back to 18.3 and getting Studio One 4 to connect to the Euphonix MIDI, I decided to see if Studio One 3 had the same issues since it was still in my app list. When I added it to the preferences pane it automatically chose MIDI ports 5-8 leaving 1-4 for Studio One 4. When I re-connected in Studio One 3, the panels woke up.

I re-started all the Eucon apps, went back and re-opened Studio One 4, and this time the panels woke up!

So to review, here's the setup that's working right now:
Studio One 4.5.1 (preference pane set to Mackie Control, MIDI ports 1-4)
Studio One 3.5.5 (preference pane set to Mackie Control, MIDI ports 5-8)
EuControl 18.3.0.244
Artist Mix panels firmware 15.4
OS Mojave 10.14.5

No way to know for certain of course, but starting Studio One 3 seems to have re-opened the ports. Nobody make any sudden movements, please.

Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PT Ultimate 2019.5, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 64GB OS 10.14.5, HD Native, HD OMNI, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 18.3, Presonus 32R, Studio One 4.5.1, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.6 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 19.5 Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-06-2019, 10:16 PM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 253
Default Re: Studio One 4/Artist Mix/Mojave

I know everyone's tired of hearing me say this, but I discovered something else.

When booting the Mac Pro just now, I got one of the "not compatible with future versions of Mac OS" messages. Guess what software module it was referring to? Euphonix MIDI. I'm sure part of that has to do with me running 18.3 under Mojave, but it's interesting that the widget that's missing from 19.5 and 19.7 is the one that's triggering the message.

Is it possible this is still 32-bit code? I ask out of ignorance.

Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PT Ultimate 2019.5, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 64GB OS 10.14.5, HD Native, HD OMNI, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 18.3, Presonus 32R, Studio One 4.5.1, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.6 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 19.5 Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-08-2019, 11:13 AM
BrianGasacao's Avatar
BrianGasacao BrianGasacao is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hayward, CA - USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Studio One 4/Artist Mix/Mojave

I have a possible workaround if someone can verify it works for them.

1. Uninstall and make sure there is no grayed out Euphonix Midi Device in your Audio Midi Setup
2. Install 19.7 Release
3. Set up Eucon Preference Panel and Studio One as needed
4. Launch Studio One and open/create a project
5. Right click on EuControl icon in top menu bar and 'Restart EUCON Applications'
6. After EuControl restarts, open EuControl Setttings and lock the surface to Studio One
7. Then focus on Studio One and bank surface (if track names do not display)

*Note: If you focus on Studio One app window before locking the app in EuControl you will need to restart EUCON applications again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When using Artist mix in Studio One under mackie control.. colliderman Artist Series 2 02-22-2019 07:48 AM
Getting Artist Mix and Control to work with Studio One v3 michaelhulse Artist Series 2 07-23-2017 04:48 AM
How to connect artist mix series to studio one 2 shamanrock Artist Series 18 03-18-2015 04:59 PM
Avid Artist Mix STOLEN from my Studio in Stockholm arvid.lind Artist Series 2 07-14-2013 02:48 PM
I'm looking for an HD artist studio in Berlin... clarpark Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-22-2006 07:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com