Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2003, 05:28 PM
dmaxj dmaxj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LR
Posts: 71
Default plugins on master fader...

I am applying the stock compressor and limiter to my master fader.

Does it matter which goes where in the plug-in chain. Right now I have the limiter on top and the compressor directly under on the stereo master fader...

Any advice helps...

Peace
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2003, 05:34 PM
jodyjfk jodyjfk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 120
Default Re: plugins on master fader...

Trying to get a hot mix, huh?
It depends on how you have each one set. If the limiter is limiting so much that the compressor never kicks in, you wouldn't need the compressor. In general, I probably would have the limiter last in the chain.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2003, 05:39 PM
Aussie169 Aussie169 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Leongatha, Vic, Australia
Posts: 1,869
Default Re: plugins on master fader...

I generally put the limiter last.

I leave the first spot free for last minute unforseen plugs
then EQ
then Imaging (if at all)
then comp (if at all)
then limiting
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2003, 05:49 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: plugins on master fader...

Be advised, inserts on the master fader are not really inserts, as they are all POST FADER!!!!!!!!

Hope this is helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2003, 06:01 PM
dmaxj dmaxj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LR
Posts: 71
Default Re: plugins on master fader...

Okay, thanks

So , I guess the the 'inserts' are read from the top to bottom....


Right now I have

LIMITER
COMPRESSOR


Does this mean that the signal is going thru the limiter first and then the compressor?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-2003, 06:04 PM
Aussie169 Aussie169 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Leongatha, Vic, Australia
Posts: 1,869
Default Re: plugins on master fader...

correct
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-07-2003, 01:26 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: plugins on master fader...

Actually to be more specific, and at the risk of repeating myself, you'd be going Master Fader-limiter-compressor.

Hope this is helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-08-2003, 01:33 AM
Travis Mitchell Travis Mitchell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cecilia
Posts: 220
Default Re: plugins on master fader...

Yes, what order the plugins are in matters. Not in the sense that there is a "right" order, but that the result will be different according to what order you have the plugins in.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-08-2003, 07:43 AM
dmaxj dmaxj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LR
Posts: 71
Default Re: plugins on master fader...

okay,

where, I am hip about the plugins on the master fader actually being post-fader...


Thanks 2 all...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DSP Plugins on Master Fader are being repurposed as Native Mixchump Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 12-16-2012 07:47 AM
Plugins on Master Fader or Main Mixdown Track studioslave77 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 12-20-2007 12:02 PM
major issues with master fader plugins and PT satchvai Tips & Tricks 4 04-05-2006 06:57 PM
How do I get more than 5 plugins on Master Fader? curve666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-13-2004 01:05 PM
What are everyones PlugIns used on the Master Fader? PRS4LIFE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 09-01-2002 06:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com