Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2002, 09:44 PM
PRS4LIFE PRS4LIFE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 389
Default What are everyones PlugIns used on the Master Fader?

Mine is....(in order)

Digidesign 4 band-EQ
Waves C1 Compressor
Maxim
Waves L1 Ultramaximizer
__________________
iMac 20" 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB 667 Mhz DDR2 SDRAM, Guitar Rig Session I/O, M-Audio Axiom25, Pro Tools 10.1.3, Mackie Mr8mkII Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2002, 12:21 AM
keny keny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Potomac, Md USA
Posts: 716
Default Re: What are everyones PlugIns used on the Master Fader?

PAZ
Rennaissaince eq (if necescary)
C4 (sometimes)
L1+ (usually)

p.s. I submix drums and compress them seperately.
__________________
just to toot my own horn, I am in the process of relocating to Los Angeles and lookign for a job, so if anybody knows someone who can help me get established as an audio engineer and producer, check out my creds at http://www.kenyruyter.com and call me 310-909-9115

myspace page
http://www.kenyruyter.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2002, 01:55 AM
Bloux Bloux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Costa Mesa Ca. usa
Posts: 1,068
Default Re: What are everyones PlugIns used on the Master Fader?

Quote:
Originally posted by PRS4LIFE:
Mine is....(in order)

Digidesign 4 band-EQ
Waves C1 Compressor
Maxim
Waves L1 Ultramaximizer
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">why the maxim and the ultramaximizer? I thought the ultra is a beter maximizer than the maxim.
why use both? [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2002, 02:09 AM
vonbleak101 vonbleak101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: What are everyones PlugIns used on the Master Fader?

Yeah thats pretty full on!
Any way i use the Waves renaisonce Compressor
and the waves renaisonce 4 band eq

PS: I use the Waves ultramaximiser when mastering in soundforge. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
Audio Engineer/Musician/Producer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2002, 02:13 AM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: What are everyones PlugIns used on the Master Fader?

C4 sometimes, but as little else as possible...
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2002, 04:00 AM
Dr.John Dr.John is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 65
Default Re: What are everyones PlugIns used on the Master Fader?

C4, then Maxim. Thats it.

Dr.John
__________________
Don't cut that! You never know what it might be connected to...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-31-2002, 05:22 AM
SKI SKI is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: What are everyones PlugIns used on the Master Fader?

I see people I'm around using this combo
Q10
C1(or REN Comp)
L1

Maybe I'm different from most but I prefer not to load the master fader.
This is probably where the strength in the PC platform comes through, since I'm more comfortable working on the mix than the master the high plug-in count works well.
I like to use the Bomb Factory compressors on individual tracks and not compress the master and use Maxim, AudioTrack or L1 on the master (it's usually Maxim) then use the L1 in WaveLab.
I also have a tendency to open the PT wav file in other programs to be able to use plugs that may not be available to the Digi on PC yet or that I already own on VST or Direct-X.
Keep in mind the L1 likes to be last, go for sound then volume, and also what works for you depends on the type of music you are doing.
__________________
URBAN MUSIC-
(Hip Hop and R&B)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-31-2002, 06:09 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,138
Default Re: What are everyones PlugIns used on the Master Fader?

I'm just doing voice over, no music mixing, but I thought I'd include my favourites:

Ren DeEsser - sometimes
Linear Phase EQ
Linear Phase Multiband
L2

I'm using a Rode NTK microphone and combined with the above I get a very full, warm sound that is crisp and clear.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-31-2002, 07:40 PM
mfym mfym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 992
Default Re: What are everyones PlugIns used on the Master Fader?

Digidesign 4-Band
Digidesign Compressor
Digidesign Limiter
and leave the last spot empty for Dither.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-31-2002, 08:27 PM
marcusb marcusb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,040
Default Re: What are everyones PlugIns used on the Master Fader?

For me on most mixdown sessions I only have a Bomb Factory Fairchild compressor across the mix bus. Preferably this would be an Al Smart C2 as a hardware insert across the mix [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] I occasionally stick PAZ in the last slot to get some calibrated metering and to see what's going on spectrally.

PRS: why use Maxim AND the L1 ? I sure hope you are at least swiching the dither off on Maxim [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Also guys remember if you are doing master fades in the session with automation the plugins are PRE-FADER, meaning as you fade out you are altering the way your compression/limiting is functioning (effectively raising the threshold) which can lead to some very odd results.

Cheers,
Marcus
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DSP Plugins on Master Fader are being repurposed as Native Mixchump Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 12-16-2012 07:47 AM
Plugins on Master Fader or Main Mixdown Track studioslave77 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 12-20-2007 12:02 PM
major issues with master fader plugins and PT satchvai Tips & Tricks 4 04-05-2006 06:57 PM
How do I get more than 5 plugins on Master Fader? curve666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-13-2004 01:05 PM
plugins on master fader... dmaxj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-08-2003 07:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com