Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2015, 08:27 PM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: sai kung
Posts: 426
Default mc control - surround panner alternative?

had a quick demo in the shop of MC control and PT 10 HD

was pretty impressed with the touch screen - was I imagining it was better than Ipad?

I have SFX track to premix in 5.1 - could this be the thing I need? it would speed up selecting the panner ( ie panner follows selected track! )

thats good!

bit pricey tho!

altho having softkeys that can assign is pretty awesome! ( hot key for automation follows edit -

reveal clip in finder - all time savers -

but if I could jus get the panner 'on screen' to follow selected channel I will be satisfied!

any clues or bad news for me :)
__________________
i7 quad mac mini - 10.8.5 - 2x 1 TB SSD Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
protools 10.39 ( also 11? ) CPTK/ HD - Digital Performer 7.2 -Avid MC Mix
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2015, 09:17 PM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: sai kung
Posts: 426
Default Re: mc control - surround panner alternative?

one thread on artist series mentions cant get into the corners?

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/idea...ampaigns/11409

OH dear..

but I wonder is it still faster ? ( and Oh dear,. )

is there seriously no way to get the panner showing on my computer screen to follow the selected track on my computer screen?

seems very odd!
__________________
i7 quad mac mini - 10.8.5 - 2x 1 TB SSD Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
protools 10.39 ( also 11? ) CPTK/ HD - Digital Performer 7.2 -Avid MC Mix
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2015, 12:03 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,391
Default Re: mc control - surround panner alternative?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fork-media View Post
one thread on artist series mentions cant get into the corners?

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/idea...ampaigns/11409

OH dear..

but I wonder is it still faster ? ( and Oh dear,. )

is there seriously no way to get the panner showing on my computer screen to follow the selected track on my computer screen?
Yes there is. Try Spanner from TheCargoCult.

Lightyears better than the one on the Artist Control especially when you use the free iPad app that comes with it.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2015, 12:44 AM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: sai kung
Posts: 426
Default Re: mc control - surround panner alternative?

ha pretty cool - had a quick skip thru the video

I have to send the PT10 session to the Dolby room - will they have to have spanner installed to?

or is writing standard PT automation?
__________________
i7 quad mac mini - 10.8.5 - 2x 1 TB SSD Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
protools 10.39 ( also 11? ) CPTK/ HD - Digital Performer 7.2 -Avid MC Mix
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2015, 01:31 AM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: sai kung
Posts: 426
Default Re: mc control - surround panner alternative?

just realised I can get some of the keys I want via quickkeys - which is pretty much ok for me..

I gonna have a look at automating getting the selected track panner up..

has anyone else already created already ?

love to share
__________________
i7 quad mac mini - 10.8.5 - 2x 1 TB SSD Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
protools 10.39 ( also 11? ) CPTK/ HD - Digital Performer 7.2 -Avid MC Mix
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2015, 03:28 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,391
Default Re: mc control - surround panner alternative?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fork-media View Post
ha pretty cool - had a quick skip thru the video

I have to send the PT10 session to the Dolby room - will they have to have spanner installed to?

or is writing standard PT automation?
No it's a plugin. It works around the restrictions of the original panner.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-27-2015, 09:18 AM
ChrisMac ChrisMac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 218
Default Re: mc control - surround panner alternative?

Here's something new from JL Cooper

https://jlcooper.com/_php/product.php?prod=axos
__________________
Chris McIntosh
President/Sound Supervisor
Postal Audio Inc.
Imdb
Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-27-2015, 10:40 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 594
Default Re: mc control - surround panner alternative?

I use a Keyboard Maestro shortcut that brings up the selected track's surround panner from the edit window on the Raven.

It works by matching an image of a selected track,(something Quickeys can't do), and then simulating a mouse click on the little pan icon.

You also need a dummy 5.1 track as the first track in the session, as 5.1 and stereo tracks are different widths.
The screen size has to be the same too.

It took me a while to perfect it, with help from the very talented Jamey at Slate.

Panner and plugin windows follow selected track should be a simple thing for Avid to incorporate.
Its on ideascale, please vote it up.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-27-2015, 10:54 AM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,607
Default Re: mc control - surround panner alternative?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisMac View Post
Here's something new from JL Cooper

https://jlcooper.com/_php/product.php?prod=axos
Is this essentially the same as this but without touch-sensitive knobs and a different layout? Wonder what it'll cost.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-27-2015, 12:34 PM
ChrisMac ChrisMac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 218
Default Re: mc control - surround panner alternative?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
No it's a plugin. It works around the restrictions of the original panner.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Young View Post
Is this essentially the same as this but without touch-sensitive knobs and a different layout? Wonder what it'll cost.
The joystick on both are touch sensitive
__________________
Chris McIntosh
President/Sound Supervisor
Postal Audio Inc.
Imdb
Facebook
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surround Panner MC Control + RANT Cryos Artist Series 0 02-05-2015 03:13 AM
D-control surround panner use with D-Command? dicky.chan ICON & C|24 0 08-19-2013 08:50 PM
D-Control Surround Panner LFE Display sburrows ICON & C|24 2 08-15-2012 10:01 AM
D Control Surround Panner Option - With C24???? Table Syrup Records ICON & C|24 3 12-21-2007 09:46 AM
Control Surface and surround panner VINCE92 Post - Surround - Video 0 10-17-2001 03:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com