Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2012, 08:08 PM
joesackic joesackic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 54
Default Ivy bridge builds and Z77 mobos

Hey, I was wondering if anyone in the community has had any luck with either of these new products to market. They offer some amazing new features and performance. Any ideas on whats working with Pro tools and whats not?

Has anyone built an Ivy Bridge Pro tools rig yet? If so photos please!

I have an Ivy Bridge 3770k and an Asus Sabertooth z77 on the way to me as we speak. I didn't buy these components to build a Pro tools rig as my current rig is one of the most stable I have ever used outside of using Macs. Naturally though, I find my curiosity getting in the way.

Once I build the new system in the next couple days, I will post my findings on how well it runs with Pro tools. If it does well this could be huge for people coming from first gen i3, i5, i7's and older.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2013, 06:51 AM
blackdognove blackdognove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 21
Default Re: Ivy bridge builds and Z77 mobos

Thank you joesackic. I can't wait!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2013, 02:44 PM
guatamas guatamas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 645
Default Re: Ivy bridge builds and Z77 mobos

I would also be interested in knowing how it turns out with the IVY Bridge
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2013, 07:37 PM
Trainwrecker Trainwrecker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 124
Default Re: Ivy bridge builds and Z77 mobos

There are many people running Ivy builds with the chipset intel 4000 graphics. There are also many commercial machines that have been sold for PT with this setup. There have been ZERO problems with this setup from my build. Not even a hiccup. The chipset graphics are perfect for PT's and the USB 3 is great. I have been using onboard unapproved FW chipset also.

Many things that you read here just make no sense and Ivy is one of them.

Save some loot and get a nice water cooler and an IVY setup. Runs almost silent. You can O/C your brains out... if that is your bag! No need for a graphics card.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
002r burning powerbook mobos? Pepo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 01-31-2011 12:10 PM
Supermicro Mobos s9dd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 5 12-06-2008 10:41 AM
Quad core Xeon Mobos? s0nguy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 9 10-17-2006 08:44 PM
When will Core 2's (and their mobos) be supported? WATYF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-21-2006 07:36 AM
Upgrading MOBOs in laptops? BioFeedback 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-11-2004 06:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com