Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:07 PM
musimedia musimedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 18
Default THE END of Firewire 400 has come!!!

hello, im just wondering, with apple's recent drop-off of the firewire 400 ports on all of their macs (Mac Pro, Macbook Pro, iMac and Mac mini) what will happen to us users that have a mbox 2 pro or digi003 setup if we come to change computer in the near future, and im planning to buy a mac pro very soon?!?! I can't afford to buy another mxbox 2pro as well as a mac pro.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:14 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: THE END of Firewire 400 has come!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by musimedia View Post
hello, im just wondering, with apple's recent drop-off of the firewire 400 ports on all of their macs (Mac Pro, Macbook Pro, iMac and Mac mini) what will happen to us users that have a mbox 2 pro or digi003 setup if we come to change computer in the near future, and im planning to buy a mac pro very soon?!?! I can't afford to buy another mxbox 2pro as well as a mac pro.
Your title is a little overly dramatic I think..

The FW 400 to FW 800 adapter cables reportedly work very well.

I'm a little concerned about Apple's stance on FW though, too.
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:23 PM
musimedia musimedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 18
Default Re: THE END of Firewire 400 has come!!!

where can i get these cables?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:23 PM
lemonymous lemonymous is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: THE END of Firewire 400 has come!!!

I'm in the same boat.

I just ordered an iMac - 2008 edition I think, with the two firewire ports (400/800) and they auto upgraded me for no charge because it hasn't shipped yet (so now only the 800 but now 8GB RAM!).

I had done all the necessary research for this but now I'm completely flummoxed because I don't know if I should get the MBox 2 Pro Factory anymore. I WANT firewire, but I'm really concerned with how it will work. And even so, I don't know how to set up the drive/Mbox chain as regards whether or not I should have a firewire 800 HDD, or a 400 with an adapter, or what.

Any thoughts on this?

I might otherwise just say heck with it and go USB on the Mbox but I really don't want to.

Thanks,
Lemonymous
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:26 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: THE END of Firewire 400 has come!!!

Here

But I did just read in another post that the cables might not work well with the Mbox2 Pro.. Sorry if I spoke too soon..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:30 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: THE END of Firewire 400 has come!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonymous View Post
I'm in the same boat.

I just ordered an iMac - 2008 edition I think, with the two firewire ports (400/800) and they auto upgraded me for no charge because it hasn't shipped yet (so now only the 800 but now 8GB RAM!).

I had done all the necessary research for this but now I'm completely flummoxed because I don't know if I should get the MBox 2 Pro Factory anymore. I WANT firewire, but I'm really concerned with how it will work. And even so, I don't know how to set up the drive/Mbox chain as regards whether or not I should have a firewire 800 HDD, or a 400 with an adapter, or what.

Any thoughts on this?

I might otherwise just say heck with it and go USB on the Mbox but I really don't want to.

Thanks,
Lemonymous
You definitely should not get a FW 800 drive and an Mbox2 Pro:

HD compatibility

But if there are problems just plugging a mbox2 pro into a FW 800 port using a 400-800 adapter, I'm sorry I just don't know...
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:31 PM
musimedia musimedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 18
Default Re: THE END of Firewire 400 has come!!!

well if the guy that just posted said that it works fine with some double headed cable 400/800 with a converter in it. so i guess all hope is not lost. if you plan on doing some djing go with the mbox 2 pro cuz you have a phono input with a ground on it. sure is handy! if you just recording audio like a guitar and vocals go with the usb one...unless you need maximum less lagging when you record ex. hearing your voice some miliseconds after you spoke in the mic. or if you need more ins/outs well go with the mbox 2 pro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:35 PM
musimedia musimedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 18
Default Re: THE END of Firewire 400 has come!!!

never plug in a fw hd and mb2pro.. sound will just stop coming out of you mbox2pro cuz of an too much power being drained from the plug inside your imac....believe me i tried....the only way to overcome this like i did was with a firewire expresscard on a macbook pro...or a pci card for your mac pro....forget it on the imac
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:50 PM
lemonymous lemonymous is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: THE END of Firewire 400 has come!!!

So basically I just need to go with the USB MBox 2, (as I WILL be recording on my lonesome).

I'm not concerned about bitrate or anything like that. Performance-wise, can I expect as decent a performance from the Mbox 2 (USB) as i would get from the Pro? could I theoretically be playing 30 tracks of audio, still record another part and not expect too many problems with the system I'm detailed above?

Additionally, any suggestions then for how I should go about things with a firewire drive? Should I get a 400 and adapter if I go with the USB Mbox, or can I do 800? I'm looking for a 500GB drive.

Thanks,
Lemonymous.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:54 PM
musimedia musimedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 18
Default Re: THE END of Firewire 400 has come!!!

with an mbox 2 USB you can get a firewire hard drive...go with 800 youll get beter response if you put your soundbank on it
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on USB/Firewire speeds on computer W/ No firewire port rockguitarist1255 Tips & Tricks 14 04-02-2013 06:35 PM
Digi 002 Firewire 400speed not accepted by new Mac Pro Firewire 800speed ports AncientMan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-15-2010 09:31 PM
Impossible to find SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard FireWire adapter Bloody Maker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-22-2010 09:58 AM
Issue? Laptop, Firewire 410, SIIG Firewire Express Card batchmister1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 08-07-2009 10:37 AM
More Firewire Formatting/Performance Woes - Anybody got Atto working with Firewire? Audiobotica33 Storage Subsystems 1 12-11-2001 07:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com