Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2006, 07:43 PM
s0nguy s0nguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 718
Default Quad core Xeon Mobos?

All,

Did a search.... cant find a quick answer to an mobo that would be compatable with HD2(PCI) and run 2 Dual core Xeons... just like a MacPro.

Any model numbers handy?

Thanks,
S0nguy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2006, 07:12 AM
s0nguy s0nguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 718
Default Re: Quad core Xeon Mobos?

All,

This doesnt seem to be a hot topic. Should I wait until the dual Quads come out? Apparently they will be out sometime at teh end of the year.

-S0nguy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2006, 10:27 AM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: Quad core Xeon Mobos?

Actually, the new Quad core processors should be same pin as the dual cores out now, like in the Mac Pro (Woodcrest). I think the problem may be finding a motherboard with 2 or more PCI/PCI-X slots that has a chipset that will work with PT and the HD cards. Trailerman has a thread where he is having issues with PCI (non-PCIe) boards for his HD4 Accel. I have a bad feeling this is going to be the wave to come...thus pushing users to find the last surviving boards capable of only an HD2 at most with PCI.

Hopefully I will be very wrong
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2006, 07:07 PM
polkbrosmusic polkbrosmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: sanford,fl
Posts: 142
Default Re: Quad core Xeon Mobos?

The Tyan X7DAE-0 seems to handle tow pcix 0r pci cards fo HD 2 Pci na 2 dual or quadcore 5000 0r 100 series processors.

I'm struggling to determine intel or amd.

Nikki-K you're on MAC Pro, whats your take on the Mac and did you Purchase HD Core or HD2??

Thank You
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2006, 10:39 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: Quad core Xeon Mobos?

Bought the Mac Pro and HD2 Accel. Tons of power, really happy. Only using XP for a gaming computer now. Would like to see Vista in action onc eit is out and sorted...but I doubt I would jump back.
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2006, 10:54 AM
s0nguy s0nguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 718
Default Re: Quad core Xeon Mobos?

So......I typed that motherboard model in and got some weird results.

What is the fastest PC, XEON based that we are going to be able to build that will accomodate an HD2 (PCI)?

-S0nguy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2006, 11:36 AM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: Quad core Xeon Mobos?

Quote:
So......I typed that motherboard model in and got some weird results.

What is the fastest PC, XEON based that we are going to be able to build that will accomodate an HD2 (PCI)?

-S0nguy
Once PCIe is supported on XP, I would wait just a tiny it longer if possible. The new Quad-cores will be out. Even if that is overkill, it will bring down the price of Woodcrest even more I would think. Irregardless, having the option to upgrade to a quad-core would be nice I would think.

Also, the prime thing about the PCIe version of HD is that the Core is an Accel core.

On a side note- it is actually kinda funny, yet sad at the same time: firing up this rig, I watched DSP chips get eaten on the Accel Core and Accel process card; yet the Mac Pro took forever to bog down. If I stay away from high-drw virtual instruments, it would take a ridiculously HUGE session to even make the machine flinch...XP on a similarly outfitted machine is the same... So funny how a couple years can make Accel look...err...underpowered...extremely underpowered...
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2006, 01:42 PM
s0nguy s0nguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 718
Default Re: Quad core Xeon Mobos?

Nikki,

As always thanks for your response...

I dont want to upgrade my cards. Plain and simple. But my PC is getting a bit slow when I use lots of VIs. I'll move over when PT makes a substantial card upgrade. Accel core isnt it in my opinion.

I really could use somethign in the interim.

-S0nguy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2006, 02:43 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,848
Default Re: Quad core Xeon Mobos?

Why not just use the supportted xw9300. You can put dual dual opterons in and it can run a HD 3 with no problems. Really fast computer.
Brandon
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2006, 08:44 PM
s0nguy s0nguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 718
Default Re: Quad core Xeon Mobos?

That's a good idea.... I guess I'm just the type of guy who build his Pcs. I mean... if I buy the HP what will I do with my 250 dollars water cooling kit?!!?

Now, if I could buy the motherboard and processors out of the HP or the Dell 670, that would be nice. I already have raptors and all teh other goodies..

-S0nguy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quad core XEON 2.93 Ghz Hd compatibilty Zorg82 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-06-2013 01:46 AM
Xeon quad core HP with PT9, some advice please Kolya Pro Tools 9 6 07-07-2011 04:42 AM
mac pro quad core or 8 core xeon nehalem? grendizer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 02-17-2010 12:30 PM
Two 2.8GHz HELP, PLEASE!!!!! Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Harpertown” processors LaForestPoetry18 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-07-2008 06:07 AM
Xeon quad core? imagin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-16-2007 02:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com