Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2015, 04:34 PM
andreasfromsweden andreasfromsweden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Malmö, Sweden
Posts: 21
Default How to make these 2 lines sound more alike?

I have a lot of trouble making these two off screen lines sound alike. It feels like it should be pretty easy, it probably is, but I haven't managed to get anywhere close. It's not just the proximity on the first, but also the room on the second that makes it hard.. If someone have suggestions I would be really grateful. I only have the plugins that come with PT11.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2015, 08:23 AM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 230
Default Re: How to make these 2 lines sound more alike?

There is some difference in the sound of the voice but the more prominent problem for me is the the background noise changing from low rumble to high hiss. Once you have this cleaned a little more even bass and room should do it.

Last edited by Sonopolis; 02-14-2015 at 03:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2015, 10:24 AM
andreasfromsweden andreasfromsweden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Malmö, Sweden
Posts: 21
Default Re: How to make these 2 lines sound more alike?

ive fixed the backgrounds by with a location atmos, and i have some wind ambience eating the rest, so thats not a problem. but sorry you say bass, on the first line? you think that alone will fix the proximity?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2015, 01:03 PM
mr.armadillo mr.armadillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 826
Default Re: How to make these 2 lines sound more alike?

EQing the lines and some small room reverb on the first line (only short early reflections, you could try Altiverbs "car" presets) should do the trick.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2015, 03:31 AM
andreasfromsweden andreasfromsweden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Malmö, Sweden
Posts: 21
Default Re: How to make these 2 lines sound more alike?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2015, 12:23 AM
Mike Thornton's Avatar
Mike Thornton Mike Thornton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Manchester, U.K.
Posts: 386
Default Re: How to make these 2 lines sound more alike?

EQ Match and Ambience Match in iZotope's RX4 Advanced and then a little reverb processing to match the perspective if they are meant to be at the same position.
__________________
Mike Thornton MIPS
Audio Meister and Editor of Pro Tools Expert
www.pro-tools-expert.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2015, 02:40 PM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,079
Default Re: How to make these 2 lines sound more alike?

Or use eq match in Fab filter pro q 2...it's just automation
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Studio One - Protools alike? poem Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-23-2009 09:39 AM
Could use advice from Vets, and Anyone alike. Senatex Tips & Tricks 22 10-10-2005 10:10 PM
Anyone out there familiar with sound-alike/karaoke work? 88Fingerz88 General Discussion 0 04-29-2002 08:48 PM
Anyone out there familiar with sound-alike/karaoke work? 88Fingerz88 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-29-2002 08:44 PM
pro tool free = no sound, how to make it see my sound card? spencedavey Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 01-03-2001 02:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com