Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2013, 01:16 PM
stangroom stangroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 29
Default HD3|Accel Video Solution

What up DUC?!

So I've been trying to figure out a solution lately for an HD Video setup with my ProTools HD3|Accel system, and have hit a wall.

We currently have a Canopus ADVC-110, which has been fine, but we want to expand up to HD video capabilities. Unfortunately, all of our PCI slots are used up by the graphics card and the ProTools cards.

I was looking at the other BlackMagic Intensity options aside from the Intensity Pro (PCI), but they are either Thunderbolt (don't have) or USB 3.0 and I'm not sure of ProTools compatibility with them.

I do have a 2nd Monitor set up, but unfortunately some of the bigger videos we work with, especially ProRes, really slow our system down. H264s are probably the worst due to the compression refreshing that the computer then has to do. It really slows ProTools down in a bad way - not good when clients are in the room.

Short of buying a Magma expansion chassis or switching to HDX, does anyone have a possible solution under $1000? Thanks in advance for all your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2013, 08:36 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,848
Default Re: HD3|Accel Video Solution

I would simply satellite another pro tools le rig. You'll probably be able to get a video satellite going for right around a grand but it's a great way to work. All the load of video completely off your daw.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2013, 08:50 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: HD3|Accel Video Solution

you don't say your on a Mac Pro but I'm going to work under that assumption:
you do not have USB 3.0 ether
what model do you have? (the older video cards suck on High Def QTs)

A Vid Sat rig is a way to go but that another computer + a PT licence + a Vid Sat licence + maybe a video card depending on the computer
You could convert everything to something like photo-JPEG (that is what we use and do, except when we Vid Sat w/ MC off of ISIS)
More than $1k but the new Mac Pros that are do soon should have both Thunderbolt and
USB 3.0
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2013, 08:46 AM
stangroom stangroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 29
Default Re: HD3|Accel Video Solution

Hey Craig, yes MacPro.

Thanks for your guys' input.

Although the satellite system sounds awesome, this is actually a multi room facility that we're trying to upgrade. No centralized machine room either, and Gigabit ethernet throughout the studios. I do have a couple year old MacPro sitting around that can be setup for satellite, but I think running two or three sessions simultaneously over anything other than Fiber would be very stuttery and maybe cause more problems than solutions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video solution for PT 7.4 and pci-x G5 Duranchula Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-10-2008 10:24 PM
HD Video Solution jeremiahjobe Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 10-17-2007 04:30 AM
A new video solution filmixer Post - Surround - Video 2 10-17-2004 02:42 AM
Video solution? Przemek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-04-2003 08:24 PM
Firewire Video Solution?? Beatstreet Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 01-13-2002 07:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com