Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2004, 07:34 AM
BioFeedback BioFeedback is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 58
Default Upgrading MOBOs in laptops?

Does anyone have any experience upgrading laptops, or building them??? I have a crappy, full size, toshiba satillite, that I would love to turn into an AMD music machine. Right now, it's a sad celeron.

Finding mobile amd processors is easy..but what the heck MOBO do you use? I'm guessing its not as cut and dry as the ATX format is. Someone please school me!
__________________
Rock on,
Mike P~

X-Dreamer II
Asus K8V Deluxe
AMD 64 3200+
Corsair XMS 1024MB
WD SATA 80G Drive X2
NEC DVDRW
MBox
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2004, 08:37 AM
MrJoshua MrJoshua is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 267
Default Re: Upgrading MOBOs in laptops?

I've never, ever been able to find a motherboard for a laptop, and I've looked. I have an extremely ancient HP laptop sitting around that I wanted to up grade quite a while back, and never could find anything. I think you may be out of luck.

But I'm no expert, so maybe someone else will prove me wrong.
__________________
Joshua L.
Decatur, AL
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2004, 10:55 AM
SSRJazz SSRJazz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Columbia, Mo USA
Posts: 385
Default Re: Upgrading MOBOs in laptops?

Laptops by their very nature are inherently non-upgradable due to the custom cases, custom motherboards, custom everything.

__________________
-Jeff Schoby
Sacred Soul Records
http://www.sacredsoulrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2004, 06:31 PM
BioFeedback BioFeedback is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 58
Default Re: Upgrading MOBOs in laptops?

Aww dag narnit! (throws hat down and jumps up and down on it!) I have to do more searching!
__________________
Rock on,
Mike P~

X-Dreamer II
Asus K8V Deluxe
AMD 64 3200+
Corsair XMS 1024MB
WD SATA 80G Drive X2
NEC DVDRW
MBox
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ivy bridge builds and Z77 mobos joesackic Pro Tools 10 3 06-22-2013 07:37 PM
002r burning powerbook mobos? Pepo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 01-31-2011 12:10 PM
Supermicro Mobos s9dd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 5 12-06-2008 10:41 AM
Quad core Xeon Mobos? s0nguy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 9 10-17-2006 08:44 PM
When will Core 2's (and their mobos) be supported? WATYF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-21-2006 07:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com