Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2009, 07:15 PM
Peter Miller Peter Miller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 22
Default Video Aspect Ratio Question

I have a problem where PT8 is not displaying the correct aspect ratio for a 16:9 QT. The video displays correctly from Quicktime itself, and also from Cubase which I use for composing. Just not in Tools.

Anyone know what might be wrong?

P.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2009, 01:00 PM
mikevarela mikevarela is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 571
Default Re: Video Aspect Ratio Question

maybe stupid, but have you right-clicked the video and chosen a size to view? might not change aspect but it might be worth a shot
__________________
NuanceTone.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2009, 06:54 PM
Peter Miller Peter Miller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 22
Default Re: Video Aspect Ratio Question

Yup. Tried resizing to various sizes to see if it would 'wake it up' so to speak, but no joy.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2009, 01:18 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Default Re: Video Aspect Ratio Question

Try opening with Quicktime and change aspect properties (apple+J), then save.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2009, 08:47 PM
Peter Miller Peter Miller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 22
Default Re: Video Aspect Ratio Question

I fixed this problem by re-saving the QT clips in Mpeg Streamclip. Didn't change anything, but something in the resave fixed it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2009, 02:30 AM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Video Aspect Ratio Question

QuickTime and PT can be temperamental in this respect. If you have problems like this and don't have MPEG Streamclip available then adjust the properties in QuickTime and save as a reference movie.

I found that QuickTime has numerous places to set frame size and if the correct one is not set then PT displays the other one. I forget the exact details but it seemed to be Original size that was the one PT read even though the QuickTime properties were set to 720x500 (an odd size yes but one that the aspect was correct on) the original size was set at a more understandable 720x540. When viewed in QuickTime it looked correct when opening in PT we had a very odd looking 16:9 squeezed into 4:3 picture that made the actors lose weight but other than that wasn't much good to anyone.

Saved as a reference movie and imported that into PT and all was fine.

Ceri
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S3L Aspect Ratio Jason Raboin VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 09-27-2013 11:38 AM
Video Import Aspect Ratio Madness postmike Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 04-23-2010 09:20 AM
Video Import Aspect Ratio Madness postmike Post - Surround - Video 1 03-30-2010 01:44 PM
Video Aspect Ratio Question Peter Miller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-25-2009 07:08 PM
Video aspect-ratio. lode Post - Surround - Video 10 02-09-2007 06:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com