Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2018, 10:53 AM
SOY SOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: US
Posts: 3
Default Length of MIDI notes makes no sense

Hi,

I am trying to record MIDI drums using an electric drum set connected via USB to my computer triggering superior drummer 2.0.

When I try to record I see in the midi editor that nots aren't recorded when I hit the pads but moved to start where the previous note stops.

Ive attached an example.

Does any one know how to solve this?

thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Skærmbillede 2018-02-17 kl. 19.50.04.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	57.3 KB
ID:	10020  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2018, 12:12 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,825
Default Re: Length of MIDI notes makes no sense

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOY View Post
Hi,

I am trying to record MIDI drums using an electric drum set connected via USB to my computer triggering superior drummer 2.0.

When I try to record I see in the midi editor that nots aren't recorded when I hit the pads but moved to start where the previous note stops.

Ive attached an example.

Does any one know how to solve this?

thanks
Take a look at the settings in your ekit's drum brain for sensitivity, crosstalk and so on. Your pads might be set so sensitive that they're picking up hits before you actually think you hit the pads. Of course if you have perfect timing then you shouldn't have a problem with hit timing. Some pads can be set so sensitive that merely resting a stick on them triggers a sound. Been there and had that happen. Had to make adjustments which in the case of my setup which is Yamaha based finding out what to change and how to change it is a nightmare.

Let us know what specific ekit you're using and maybe we can help you better. Drums is but one of my major instruments besides keys & guitars.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2018, 01:33 AM
SOY SOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: US
Posts: 3
Default Re: Length of MIDI notes makes no sense

Hi,

Thanks for you reply.

Tried messing around with the sensitivity settings. it doesn't seem to be causing the issue.

When playing the drum kit, everything is played back correctly

Its just when I record that PT consistently moves every note to where the previous note ended, which makes me think sth. is set up incorrectly.

The module is a produced under a private label for gear4music
Model number is DD 480X
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2018, 07:52 AM
EdwardWilliam's Avatar
EdwardWilliam EdwardWilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Santa Fe/Las Vegas, NM USA
Posts: 33
Default Re: Length of MIDI notes makes no sense

I wonder if maybe your session has the input quantize setting checked. To see, look at Event > Event Operations > Input Quantize. Some of the notes in your pic appear to be quantized, but others don’t. That’s all I can think of to check in PT.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Edward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2018, 12:19 PM
SOY SOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: US
Posts: 3
Default Re: Length of MIDI notes makes no sense

Hi,

Unfortunately, that didn't solve the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2018, 01:21 PM
bradp bradp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: worcester, ma usa
Posts: 107
Default Re: Length of MIDI notes makes no sense

So Im also having trouble with MIDI. I see i have the "Midi note length" issue as well. But I also see the timing of the midi recording is NOT what was played on the midi controller. I tested this with my other macbook pro PT system. I use a quantized drum loop for playback and when lined up with the midi track on my macpro system IS DIFFERENT in timing. I got some length changes as well, but not many in my 2 minute midi track.
I first noticed this a month ago when tracking a band with MIDI drums. The HiHat notes obviously were changed from what he played. (not in the groove at all).... I know im using an old midi IO interface and that may be an issue. I have not tried this with a USB midi device. It would be interesting to see if the midi recording groove changes like when I use an external midi interface (midi IO). I dont have a usb device with a sequencer at this time. If anyone can try that test Id be interested in the results.

thanks!
__________________
thanks, brad

Mac Pro:
PT 11.3.2 HD native, MIDI IO, 96IO
Mac Pro Desktop 4,1 osx 10.11.6., 8 Core 2.26GHz 2009 Intel Xeon MB535LL/A 16GB RAM 640GB HD ATI 4870
-----
MBP:
OS 10.11.6, MacBookPro 5,1, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz Memory: 8 GB Bus Speed:1.07 GHz, Boot ROM Version: MBP51.007E.B06, SMC Version (system):1.33f8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drawn MIDI note length only staccato notes, regardless of note length kingofallwookies Pro Tools 11 2 02-07-2014 07:10 AM
8.1 I/O Makes No Sense JimC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-04-2010 02:19 AM
4 GB RAM makes sense? Ford Prefect 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-20-2008 07:42 AM
It Makes No Sense!!!! TNALUV1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 04-10-2003 03:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com