Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-24-2020, 12:10 PM
jrgillam jrgillam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

I tried changing the scaling settings on all 3 of my screens to be between 125% and 175%. I couldn't even get Pro Tools to launch -- it just glitched out and crashed each time I tried (photos attached).

Pro Tools launched without issue after I restored the scaling to 100% in Windows settings, but I still get the glitches when I search for a plugin.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4823.jpg (56.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_4822.jpg (41.9 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-24-2020, 12:11 PM
jrgillam jrgillam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

Here's a screenshot of my high DPI settings for Pro Tools.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Scaling.jpg (43.6 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-24-2020, 12:19 PM
polycorn polycorn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 34
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

I did not try the actual suggestion by that other thread, but that did point me in the (seemingly) right direction for my case.

Still hoping that it's related.

I messed with these settings (see image)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Annotation 2020-05-24 211754.jpg (34.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-24-2020, 01:24 PM
jrgillam jrgillam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

Yeah those are the same screen scaling settings I fiddled with that made Pro Tools crash.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-24-2020, 01:33 PM
polycorn polycorn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 34
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

Damn... I’m out of suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-24-2020, 01:54 PM
jrgillam jrgillam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

I appreciate your input!

I'll report back when I hear from Avid.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-24-2020, 06:40 PM
jrgillam jrgillam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

Latest development in this is that I had a few sips of sauvignon blanc and ordered a Mac Mini. It's a step down, but bloody hell. I have another unresolved GUI issue on Windows with MIDI note editing lag, described here: https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?...17#post2552117

When I contacted Avid support about that they pretty much told me I was imagining it.

Anyway I know I'm a schmuck and should just stick with Cubase, but I guess I'm a glutton for punishment.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-25-2020, 03:13 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,232
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

Rather than scaling to a percentage in Windows it’s better to change the display resolution for the attached monitors in the Windows Display settings or in the video driver. Also don’t set any high dpi and scaling options for the exe file In properties.
__________________
PT 2020.5 DP 10.11 VEP 7.x MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 20H2)
PT 2020.5 DP 10.11 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-25-2020, 03:47 PM
mkosacek mkosacek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 346
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

I'm glad to see someone is finally seeing a similar issue to the one I reported on 2020.3 (although sorry to hear its got you too...). Avid support was horrible. I felt like I was talking to a robot - maybe I was. about every 5 days I'd get some generic response telling me to change settings that I clearly had already told them I had tried. eventually they just closed the issue with no fix. Useless.

I could not use it and had to go back to 2019.12 (which works great for me). Since I'm paying for support through 2021 I thought I'd give 2020.5 a try. I uninstalled 2019.12 (as recommended by others) and manually uninstalled the pieces it does not clean up (avid link, etc.) then installed 2020.5.

as soon as I bounce a file all hell breaks loose. I had a 4 minute song and about 3 min into the bounce, the first sign is always that time remaining gets a black box on it and you can't read it any more (black text on black background..). Once the bounce is done, the screen is so freaked out that you can;t save and close using the mouse - I can only use shortcuts to try to save and exit. in this case memorize "CTRL+S" and CTRL+Shift+W to exit safely. CTRL+ALT+W will close any "floating windows" like plugins if they are on top.

Sometimes during the bounce all goes wild and parts of the display start flashing. completely insane.

I disabled all scaling on my graphics card (Nvidia GT730) and set the compatibility "override high DPI settings" to "system" as prescribed in the 2020.5 Readme, even though I am not using display scaling or a 4K monitor. I have dual monitors and each is 1920x1080 (that's 1080p, not 4K). Did not make any difference. I also disabled the GPU under preferences. again, no difference.

the screenshots here are from a session that was mostly midi/virtual instruments but it happens in a straight up audio session too. i am not using video files at all.

Looks like I will be going back to 2019.12 once again. sigh....
Attached Images
File Type: png displaycorruption3.PNG (3.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg displaysettings.jpg (22.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg display_corruption1.jpg (64.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg display_after_bounce_sm.jpg (66.9 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg displaycorruption4sm.jpg (37.2 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.12
UAD Apollo 16 (v9.11)
Dell XPS (i5-7400)
Win10
www.studiodrumtracks.com
www.doubledogrecording.com

Last edited by mkosacek; 05-25-2020 at 04:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-25-2020, 10:07 PM
thebeatless thebeatless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 56
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

I've been having this issue as well when searching for plugins. The moment I press return to select the plugin I want, the screen goes nuts. I switched to windows back in december, and this is THE ONLY issue I ever have to deal with. I've found that I can sometimes press cancel and save on my dock to snap it out of it, but I normally have to close/force quit pro tools and then relaunch. At least I don't have to reboot the computer. My last few macs had many more complications, so I almost don't mind this one thing that happens maybe once daily. That said, I'd love a fix, and it's good to hear that I'm not the only one dealing with it!

I am using a 4k monitor, and I've played with all kinds of scaling options, but they don't seem to make a difference.

Last edited by thebeatless; 05-26-2020 at 07:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro 3 on Windows 10 with Pro Tools 2020.3 unkJE FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 1 05-22-2020 02:27 AM
Windows 10 - PT 2020.3 - Exporting Video lowlights Pro Tools 2020 0 05-05-2020 02:24 PM
Pro Tools 2020.3 in Windows 10 StillHollow Windows 8 04-19-2020 06:51 PM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 08:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com