Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2020, 02:26 PM
Zak7 Zak7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 37
Default Curved Monitor?? ..anyone?

Hi,

So it make sense or not to buy a curved Monitor ...24" if I sit around 2.5 Feet away from the monitor??


Is for my second monitor (along the side of the Room) that is with different pair of speakers and for fine tuning the mix and final touches.

I do not need a monitor to look cool..I just want what is best for visual reference

and any good advise for a great monitor? quality/price ?

thank you

Last edited by Zak7; 05-16-2020 at 04:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2020, 04:26 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,521
Default Re: Curved Monitor?? ..anyone?

My 2 cents; the curve is more gimmick than good 24" would be too small for me at 3'. What resolution? If its 1920x1080, younger eyes might be happy(mine are old). Higher resolution will make everything smaller. If you are only running Pro Tools and NOT doing video, a 1080P LED TV can be a bargain. I run a 43" here(slightly raised) with a 27" below(on an angle, like the Slate MTi2, but NOT a touchscreen). The 27" is also 1920x1080 and this allows me to put the EDIT window on the 43" and MIX window below(been working this way for several years). The drawback of the TV is that video(youtube and such) tends to look bad. Pro Tools looks fine and I usually drag the video window to the 27"(its a computer monitor, so it looks good with youtube stuff). The 43" was barely $200 from Walmart(its a 4K TV but I run 1920x1080 with no scaling)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2020, 04:41 PM
Zak7 Zak7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 37
Default Re: Curved Monitor?? ..anyone?

Yes, is mainly for Pro Tools, my Monitor is very old and bad..so I want a fresh clean monitor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2020, 05:55 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,830
Default Re: Curved Monitor?? ..anyone?

We have two 49” Acer Curved and THEY ROCK!!!

4K no issues and looks great too Use them in both the big SSL room and the production room and would NEVER go back. Same as having 2X27” without the edges in the middle and you can split it into 4 different spaces or 3 or 2 or one big screen as pictured!

That comment about gimmick is BS and who wants a big ass 40+ inch square in the middle like a bohemoth! No bueno! Get a curved monitor. You will love it. I was in several studios in LA before corona restrictions and saw most have got them now. Warren Huart and David Bendeth have got them too so gimmick?? I think NOT!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F4A528A4-6FA1-4D26-9A18-29D38B2C989C.jpg (53.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 48A11A9F-E4E7-465F-BB03-D5F331DC9915.jpg (62.8 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2020, 06:57 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,521
Default Re: Curved Monitor?? ..anyone?

Big difference in a curved 24 and those 49 inchers
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does 49” Curved 5K Samsung monitors work with PT Southsidemusic Getting Started 5 03-06-2020 11:53 AM
OT: Screens - Curved Vs Flat - Pros And Cons GTBannah General Discussion 5 01-14-2019 07:16 AM
Can Studio Monitor Express & Transport act as digital monitor controller? briancares Artist Series 1 02-04-2014 05:23 AM
MBox 2 Pro Monitor knob has stopped changing monitor levels Rumandolin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-21-2013 09:13 AM
Dual Monitor / hardware playback with NTSC monitor TheBriceShow Post - Surround - Video 2 02-21-2005 05:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com