Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-24-2020, 07:21 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,364
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Tried already, does not work. PT does not see any clips in the .aiff file, although it recognizes that your files for example are 44.1kHz 16bit audio
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-24-2020, 09:42 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,218
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

The files are AIFC-sowt as the audio data in them is little endian. Open one in any other app and save it in the same file format and Pro Tools can read it. Open one that Pro Tools can read in Quicktime and save it yet again and Pro Tools goes back to refusing to read it.

File this under "things that make you go hmmmm....."
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-25-2020, 02:35 AM
keine idee keine idee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Basel
Posts: 8
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

That really makes me go hmm..

Thank you guys for checking!
It does help to know that it's not just us.
We're considering going back one ProTools version since that seems to be the easiest option to make it work.

(also waiting for an answer from AVID support, I'll update when I get it)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-25-2020, 10:22 AM
wafare wafare is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 47
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Try creating the appropriate track type first, and then drag the file onto it. I seem to recall this problem happening to me a while ago.
__________________
2013 2.7 Ghz 12-Core Mac Pro
64 GB Ram
1 TB SSD
OS X 10.14.6
Lynx Hilo TB D/A
Prism Lyra A/D
Apogee Symphony MKII 2X6 SE
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12
MASELEC MTC-1x
MASELEC MLA-2
MASELEC MEA-2
MASELEC MPL-2
MASELEC MLA-4
MANLEY (Mastering) SLAM!
MANLEY MASSIVE PASSIVE (Mastering)
X2 Rupert Neve 5059
WAVES L2 Ultra Maximizer
Artist Control
X2 Artist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-25-2020, 03:26 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 580
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Just tried this earlier when I imported some CD tracks. AIFF import greyed out and not available.
__________________
10.14.6 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2020.5

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2020.5, Apollo 8 Silver
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-26-2020, 12:50 AM
keine idee keine idee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Basel
Posts: 8
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by wafare View Post
Try creating the appropriate track type first, and then drag the file onto it. I seem to recall this problem happening to me a while ago.
I tried to drag from workspace, drag from browser and using the import window.
None of them worked. Or do you mean a different way?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-26-2020, 07:38 AM
keine idee keine idee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Basel
Posts: 8
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Avid just confirmed to me that this is an actual bug.
They are working on resolving the issue for the 2020 version.
__________________
Macbook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015) with High Sierra 10.13.6, Pro Tools 2019.12

iMac Pro (2017) with High Sierra 10.13.6, Pro Tools 2019.12, Interface: RME
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-26-2020, 07:43 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,364
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Good to hear. AIFF has always been PITA so very good if they are working on it
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-27-2020, 07:52 AM
paulmitch paulmitch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 103
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Having same issue. This basically renders all my SFX libraries useless until we can get a fix.
__________________
Home:
27" iMac, (Retina 5k, 2017)
4.2GHz Intel Core i7, 32 GB RAM
OSX 10.3.3
UAD Apollo 8 Duo
UAD Apollo 16 silverface
UAD Satellite Octo, Thunderbolt
PT 2018.10
Work:
Mac Pro (Mid 2012)
2x3.06GHz 6-Core Xeon, 32 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
OSX 10.13.6
Avid HDX HD Madi x 3
SSL C100
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-29-2020, 07:39 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Just discovered I'm having the same issue. Workspace won't audition. Drag-n-drop gets error: Assertion in "/Volumes/Development/238958/ProTools/NewFileLibs/FF/Audio/FF_AudioFile.cpp", line 1339.

Files play fine in finder. Converted to WAV (with Switch) and they work fine. I have LOTS of .aiff samples all over the place and converting to WAV would be a pain.
Additionally, when I browse in Workspace to the folder, Task Manager starts "Calculating Waveform Overview" and runs continuously til I force it to cancel.
ugh.
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucontrol 20.5, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.6, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2019.12 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.14.6, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Protools Ultimate 2019.10 working with S6L? JLC VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 11-08-2019 02:31 AM
Import audio CD not working in Protools 12 redloz Pro Tools 12 5 04-23-2015 02:53 AM
Can't Import AIFF Snowman999 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-08-2014 12:04 AM
Aiff import BUG? OliJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-07-2004 10:37 PM
AIFF import ChrysalisEngineering 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-14-2004 07:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com