Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2017, 06:55 AM
Acustiman Acustiman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Hitsville
Posts: 25
Default 003 MacPro upgrade to 12 core machine.

Hi all,

Looking to upgrade a 2008 MacPro 2.66 Ghz, OS 10.6.8 to newer MacPro 12 core machine, with my current 003 interface. Anyone here done similar? Wondering what's the newest OS still compatible for the 003, Yosemite?

Thanks much
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2017, 07:43 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,284
Default Re: 003 MacPro upgrade to 12 core machine.

Using my 002 on Sierra 10.12.5 with no issues! Still rocking my mid-2012 Mackbook Pro; never run out of CPU power.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2017, 12:56 PM
Aaron ANV Aaron ANV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 41
Default Re: 003 MacPro upgrade to 12 core machine.

My 003 is still working flawlessly with Sierra (10.12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2017, 04:31 PM
Acustiman Acustiman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Hitsville
Posts: 25
Default Re: 003 MacPro upgrade to 12 core machine.

Cool good the hear!...what version of PT's are you guys running? Still on 10
Vanilla, but have 11&12...hesitate upgrading with some of the negative press.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2017, 05:38 PM
Aaron ANV Aaron ANV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 41
Default Re: 003 MacPro upgrade to 12 core machine.

I'm running the latest PT 12.8.1 with Sierra (10.12.6). I use a 2013 iMac and a 2011 MacBook Pro and I've been very happy with the PT12/003 performance on both.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2017, 06:52 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,284
Default Re: 003 MacPro upgrade to 12 core machine.

Pro Tools 12.6 here!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2017, 06:09 AM
Acustiman Acustiman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Hitsville
Posts: 25
Default Re: 003 MacPro upgrade to 12 core machine.

Good news thanks...to 12-core PT's 12 it is!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2020, 08:13 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,607
Default Re: 003 MacPro upgrade to 12 core machine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Acustiman View Post
Good news thanks...to 12-core PT's 12 it is!
Acustiman, how it been working for you with a 12core ?
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - HIGH SIERRA - PT 2020.3 / 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 12 Core MacPro Jeffrey Talbot macOS 5 06-15-2012 02:27 PM
MacPro 8 core runs Mpowered better on only 1 core??? textiles Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 08-25-2009 01:13 PM
New Build Help: Q9450 Core 2 Quad Core Machine Advice? GanB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 04-15-2008 05:14 AM
Macpro 8 core Roghog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-01-2007 11:56 PM
macpro core 2 duo dobryden2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-06-2007 01:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com