Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2011, 10:46 PM
TBaker TBaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Spring Texas
Posts: 29
Default HELP! win 7 9.02 install and 003 display is blank

win 7x64 9.02 install and 003 display is now blank and not recognized. I installed the drivers according to the instructions.
Even when disconnected my 003 does not even say offline in the display! It was fine in 9.0.1. I uninstalled 9.0,2, I even edreinstall 9.0.1. Same problem. My 003 seems dead. How did this happen and what do I do to fix it!
I even tried this:Pro Tools 9 doesn't recognize my Avid Interface. [381749]

Table Of Contents
Section</B>


Why doesn't Pro Tools 9 recognize my Mbox 2, 003, Pro Tools Mbox, etc?

Pro Tools 9 doesnot have built-in drivers like Pro Tools LE, it uses seperate drivers for audio interfaces.
If your Avid interface is not recognized, it's possible that the Driver is not installed or an incorrect driver is installed (e.g. Mbox Driver with an Mbox 2 interface).
  1. Download the appropriate driver the Driver Downloads and Updates for Pro Tools 9 page.
  2. Run the installer.
  3. Launch Pro Tools and hold the "n" key when the splash screen appears.
  4. Select your hardware
holding down the "n" key did nothing.
I AM IN A COMPLETE PANIC!
__________________
ASUS P5K ws
Core 2 Quad Q9650 3.00GHz
8 gig ram
2 28" hd lcds
PT9.0.1 003
CPTK
MELODYNE Studio
Antares
Waves Plat
Maserati
Strike
Eleven
Drumagog Plat
Vocalign
TLverb....
and more than I care to list

Last edited by TBaker; 04-09-2011 at 10:50 PM. Reason: more data needed
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2011, 11:08 PM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,951
Default Re: HELP! win 7 9.02 install and 003 display is blank

This was past on to me from a very knowledgeable friend.

1) install 003R drivers (drivers and Pace 5.9 drivers will be installed)

2) reboot

3) verify Pace 5.9 drivers in control panel (programs)

4) install PT9 software with device off

5) reboot (power on device as you reboot…but make sure previous shutdown has taken place)(make sense?)

6) verify 003R reads correct driver in device mgr

7) start PT9 if all is good

This may help.
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2011, 11:12 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,525
Default Re: HELP! win 7 9.02 install and 003 display is blank

I would also try a new firewire cable as they have been known to fail for no apparent reason(happened to me!).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2011, 11:24 PM
TBaker TBaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Spring Texas
Posts: 29
Default Re: HELP! win 7 9.02 install and 003 display is blank

Thanks Philip, Did you experience the lack of anything in the display?


albee, already tried the cable thing.
__________________
ASUS P5K ws
Core 2 Quad Q9650 3.00GHz
8 gig ram
2 28" hd lcds
PT9.0.1 003
CPTK
MELODYNE Studio
Antares
Waves Plat
Maserati
Strike
Eleven
Drumagog Plat
Vocalign
TLverb....
and more than I care to list
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2011, 11:30 PM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,951
Default Re: HELP! win 7 9.02 install and 003 display is blank

Quote:
Originally Posted by TBaker View Post
Thanks Philip, Did you experience the lack of anything in the display?


albee, already tried the cable thing.
Please forgive me but I am a 003 Newb

Last night was my first time getting it fired up.

I followed those instructions and all is well.

When you ask about the lack on anything in the display are referring to the front of the 003r?
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2011, 03:57 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: HELP! win 7 9.02 install and 003 display is blank

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip888 View Post
This was past on to me from a very knowledgeable friend.

1) install 003R drivers (drivers and Pace 5.9 drivers will be installed)

2) reboot

3) verify Pace 5.9 drivers in control panel (programs)

4) install PT9 software with device off

5) reboot (power on device as you reboot…but make sure previous shutdown has taken place)(make sense?)

6) verify 003R reads correct driver in device mgr

7) start PT9 if all is good

This may help.
Close, but...

If you have had a bad install, you must first disconnect your 003, then remove any vestiges of 003 drivers you can find on your system.

Do not connect your 003 until everything has been installed.

After removing any existing drivers, reboot, and install the 003 drives appropriate for the PT 9 version you are installing (they were revised for 9.0.2).

Reboot, install PT 9, and reboot.

You can then plug in your 003 and all should be okay...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2011, 08:26 AM
TBaker TBaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Spring Texas
Posts: 29
Default Re: HELP! win 7 9.02 install and 003 display is blank

I am a complete WIN 7 noob, what is the best way to remove any vestiges of 003 drivers I can find on my system?
AND I did mention even when the 003 is not connected to anything the 003 screen doesnt even show OFFLINE. Just making sure that doesnt through a wrench in anything. It was fine before the upgrade started and
everything was pretty much flawless in win xp and PT8, well flawless as it was...
Thanks eveybody, will try this process in a couple of hours.
__________________
ASUS P5K ws
Core 2 Quad Q9650 3.00GHz
8 gig ram
2 28" hd lcds
PT9.0.1 003
CPTK
MELODYNE Studio
Antares
Waves Plat
Maserati
Strike
Eleven
Drumagog Plat
Vocalign
TLverb....
and more than I care to list
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2011, 09:13 AM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,951
Default Re: HELP! win 7 9.02 install and 003 display is blank

What are referring to when you say the "003 Screen"?
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:36 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: HELP! win 7 9.02 install and 003 display is blank

I am a complete WIN 7 noob, what is the best way to remove any vestiges of 003 drivers I can find on my system?

Go into Device Manager and expand every item in the "tree". If it says "003", right-click it and click "Uninstall" on the shortcut menu...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-10-2011, 12:38 PM
TBaker TBaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Spring Texas
Posts: 29
Default Re: HELP! win 7 9.02 install and 003 display is blank

uninstalled pt first, evidently it automatically uninstalled the drivers, couldnt find a one. Downloading the full 9.0.2 install instead of the upgrade.
I'm still freaked out the 003 console doesn't even say offline in the display when connected to nothing. I'm gonna follow your directions to the letter.
btw its the 003 console, not the rack, if that makes a difference.
__________________
ASUS P5K ws
Core 2 Quad Q9650 3.00GHz
8 gig ram
2 28" hd lcds
PT9.0.1 003
CPTK
MELODYNE Studio
Antares
Waves Plat
Maserati
Strike
Eleven
Drumagog Plat
Vocalign
TLverb....
and more than I care to list

Last edited by TBaker; 04-10-2011 at 12:41 PM. Reason: more clarification
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Counter display blank when opening session Armando ICON & C|24 2 03-06-2013 03:17 PM
Blank LCD Channel display jaman4fun VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 08-12-2012 03:27 PM
Digi Tech Sup: Color Display & Aux Send Display bugs nob turner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-07-2010 02:43 PM
Display name in channel strip Display Roll ICON & C|24 1 08-08-2010 08:24 AM
Plug-ins List display, view of the screen display andre67 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-23-2007 03:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com