Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2004, 06:19 PM
Chris Coleman Chris Coleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,656
Default Command8 fader quality

Okay, I'm thinking of hocking the ol' Motormix (good riddance) and going with the Command8...but how are the faders?

I've never touched a 002, but I'd guess the Command8 faders are the same...but how do they stack up against:
1) Pro Control faders, which are beautiful
2) Control24 faders, which suck

Thanks.
__________________
It's not rocket surgery
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2004, 07:35 PM
richsorr richsorr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 241
Default Re: Command8 fader quality

they suck. one of the reasons i went mackie
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2004, 07:39 PM
Chris Coleman Chris Coleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Command8 fader quality

Quote:
they suck. one of the reasons i went mackie
Pretty much what I thought. I've been toying with the Universal Control for a while...ehg, who knows. I would just really love touch-sensitive faders and the ability to flip plugin control to the faders...as well as real transport controls.

Anyone need a Motormix?
__________________
It's not rocket surgery
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2004, 04:02 AM
A2D D2A A2D D2A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 894
Default Re: Command8 fader quality

Better think wisely before you go throwing your money away:

The following control surfaces were not tested with Pro Tools 6.4, and therefore are not officially supported. The Pro Tools TDM and LE version 6.4 CDs contain an "unsupported" folder with the following control surface personality files:

CM Labs MotorMix™
JL Cooper CS-10™ MIDI series
Mackie Designs HUI™
Peavy PC-1600™
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2004, 05:33 AM
Chris Coleman Chris Coleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Command8 fader quality

Quote:
Better think wisely before you go throwing your money away:

The following control surfaces were not tested with Pro Tools 6.4, and therefore are not officially supported. The Pro Tools TDM and LE version 6.4 CDs contain an "unsupported" folder with the following control surface personality files:

CM Labs MotorMix™
JL Cooper CS-10™ MIDI series
Mackie Designs HUI™
Peavy PC-1600™

Good info, thanks for letting me know.
__________________
It's not rocket surgery
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2004, 07:32 AM
cookachoo2002 cookachoo2002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 400
Default Re: Command8 fader quality

I just went through a similar purchase decision. Although, I don't know how the 002 compares to the Command 8, the 002 responds much better to ProTools than the Universal Control. Also, the 002 is better intergrated for plug-in automation, etc.

The Mackie uses midi, and as such, it doesn't offer as many steps of fader resolution. Do a search on the Mackie here in this forum. You'll also find that many have had midi message errors, and had to buy a seperate midi interface, or try other more confusing work-arounds.

Finnally, you'll always be fighting to have ProTools support it. Rumor has it, that the HUI contract between Digi and Mackie is up in a year. Will Digi renew with all of these new control surfaces they've come out with? I used to own a Mackie HUI, and have recently switched to the 002. The 002 is much more "snappy".
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2004, 08:48 AM
Chris Coleman Chris Coleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Command8 fader quality

Quote:
The Mackie uses midi, and as such, it doesn't offer as many steps of fader resolution. Do a search on the Mackie here in this forum.
As far as I can tell, the Command8 uses MIDI, too - it just happens to also have a USB port which also relays MIDI info. Pretty much all MIDI-based controllers have a fader resolution of 1024 steps...so I don't really see the Command8 having a leg-up in this department. But I could be wrong - hope I am.

Quote:
I used to own a Mackie HUI, and have recently switched to the 002. The 002 is much more "snappy".
Hm, that might just be the difference between the 002's firewire control transmission and the HUI's MIDI transmission...again, I would think that the Command8 would be as sluggish as you found the HUI to be.
__________________
It's not rocket surgery
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2004, 09:10 AM
Flux 1.21 Flux 1.21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Philly
Posts: 315
Default Re: Command8 fader quality

Quote:
they suck. one of the reasons i went mackie

Huge mistake, because now it wont work with ProTools. Thank Digi for making you waste $1,000



__________________
002R - 7.3.1
Macbook 2.0 GHz with 2 GB of RAM


www.myspace.com/monkeywrenchmusic
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-2004, 11:53 AM
A2D D2A A2D D2A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 894
Default Re: Command8 fader quality

It does work with 6.4 is just isn't supported
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-20-2004, 12:58 PM
richsorr richsorr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 241
Default Re: Command8 fader quality

im fine with that. It works fine for me and I dont use just pro tools i also use it for DP, reason and a few other programs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
issue with sound quality after ive added the master fader Duckett Pro Tools 9 10 04-24-2013 04:36 AM
better quality power cable = better quality sound? dbvoyager General Discussion 22 04-15-2012 06:08 PM
Master Fader Quality ? ? dizzyfingers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 03-17-2007 05:18 PM
Master Fader Quality ? ? dizzyfingers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-16-2007 10:22 AM
Master fader degrades audio quality? dkrz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-13-2002 05:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com