Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2020, 07:12 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,557
Default Massive CPU overload and glitching all of a sudden +9128 error

Hi,


This has suddenly stared happening after running fine for months/years.


CPU usgae is about 15%-20% and sessions have been running fine but suddenly i'm getting CPU overloads and the sound is glitching and sometime just stops. with 9128 errors. happening on different sessions.



So looking at likely hardware causes. so far checked..


Geekbench stress test
Rember Ram test
Although i'm not sure how accurate these tests are?


Different system drive
different audio drive


............>


Just running Digi test now



Going to swap ram as i have some spare
re-seat all hard drives
re-seat PCI cards
Re-seat PCI cards all 6 in magma chassis
check re-seat magma connections and flex cables


Ive got spare core card/ accel cards and interfaces to swap and check.



Anything i've forgotten here? any other ideas?


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2020, 08:47 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,219
Default Re: Massive CPU overload and glitching all of a sudden +9128 error

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Anything i've forgotten here? any other ideas?
No expert here, but just throwing out a couple of things:
Nothing changed in plugin-folder?
No change in prefs?
No change in hardware?

Have you something to monitor temperature on the system?
Have you tried opening sessions without plugins (press shift). I know this will reduse cpu load alot, but it might tell you somethin, f.ex if the errors still persist.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2020, 09:50 AM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,284
Default Re: Massive CPU overload and glitching all of a sudden +9128 error

Good suggestions from Ben, this sounds like a rogue plugin issue. Remember: You don't need to have a plugin instantiated for it to potentially cause errors in Pro Tools. Try moving any new plugin purchases to the "unused" folder one-by-one to try and narrow it down.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2020, 10:07 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,479
Default Re: Massive CPU overload and glitching all of a sudden +9128 error

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
Good suggestions from Ben, this sounds like a rogue plugin issue. Remember: You don't need to have a plugin instantiated for it to potentially cause errors in Pro Tools. Try moving any new plugin purchases to the "unused" folder one-by-one to try and narrow it down.
Better yet, move all of them to unused and bring back one vendor a time. You will notice when you get problems and then you have narrowed it down to one vendor. After that move that vendor plugins again to the unused, then bring them back one by one. Once you start getting errors again, you know which one it is.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-24-2020, 10:15 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,557
Default Re: Massive CPU overload and glitching all of a sudden +9128 error

Hi,


Thanks for all the suggestions.



Just to clarify there's been no change to the plugins for a long time, this only started yesterday.


Although removing plugins from the session helps a bit its still there with very basic plugins.


I have just discovered that one of my internal hard drives used for storing backups etc was making an almost constant sound, activity disk sound but a bit louder and rougher sounding and looking at System usage window i can see this hard drive is showing a lot of activity even when the computer is doing nothing. I'm just copying the info off this drive to another drive then i'll test again.




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-24-2020, 10:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,479
Default Re: Massive CPU overload and glitching all of a sudden +9128 error

If it's a backup drive, why not just physically disconnect it from the computer and test again? If the problem goes away it is almost certain the drive itself is a lemon
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-24-2020, 10:56 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,557
Default Re: Massive CPU overload and glitching all of a sudden +9128 error

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
If it's a backup drive, why not just physically disconnect it from the computer and test again? If the problem goes away it is almost certain the drive itself is a lemon



Hi,


Thats what i'll be doing but as ive got the computer away and unplugged from everything and on its own i'm just copying the data to a new drive before i put it all back together. also going to clean everything whilst its out and apart.




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-9173 Error HELP anotherone Pro Tools 2018 25 03-01-2020 02:30 AM
CPU overload! ( AAE- 9173 ) SWBoatman25 Pro Tools 12 6 11-27-2016 04:44 PM
cpu spikes 1% to overload randomly, aae 9173 stratcat18 Pro Tools 12 13 07-10-2016 11:37 AM
Massive CPU overload, then stays overloaded. Drywsef Windows 8 07-03-2013 07:11 AM
Sudden CPU overload David_Greenwood macOS 3 08-25-2011 07:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com