Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2020, 10:55 PM
toodamnhipPT toodamnhipPT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Van Nuys
Posts: 12
Default Is it OK to disable delay Comp on Master Bus?

After finding out that Recording midi and audio play back off time by 2000 samples with Sonarworks on the Matter bus, I tried "disable plug in delay" on just the Master bus and now, I can record MIDI and Audio with Sonarworks on the Master bus without any timing issues.

Is it ok to "disable plug in delay" on only the Master bus? Will it affect anything else in my session? So far, I see no harm in it, but I am new to Pro Tools since 2000 when I last used it. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2020, 04:54 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,364
Default Re: Is it OK to disable delay Comp on Master Bus?

I don't think you can disable delay comp on a single buss or track; it's an all or nothing proposition.

toodamnhip - I seem to remember a fellow going by that name over in the Motunation forum for Digital Performer users. Same person by any chance?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2020, 05:28 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,558
Default Re: Is it OK to disable delay Comp on Master Bus?

Hi,


Yeah you can disable delay comp on the master bus.


Might need it if you're syncing with video and bouncing etc




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2020, 05:49 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,364
Default Re: Is it OK to disable delay Comp on Master Bus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,


Yeah you can disable delay comp on the master bus.


Might need it if you're syncing with video and bouncing etc




Chris
You can do it on a single bus? How do you do that? I've never got into disabling delay comp.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2020, 06:05 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,232
Default Re: Is it OK to disable delay Comp on Master Bus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
You can do it on a single bus? How do you do that? I've never got into disabling delay comp.
Right-click on the Delay amount at the bottom of the channel strip.
__________________
PT 2020.5 DP 10.11 VEP 7.x MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 20H2)
PT 2020.5 DP 10.11 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-17-2020, 06:13 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,558
Default Re: Is it OK to disable delay Comp on Master Bus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
You can do it on a single bus? How do you do that? I've never got into disabling delay comp.



Hi,


Command+control+click on the top number in the delay comp window bottom of the channel.




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2020, 08:11 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,743
Default Re: Is it OK to disable delay Comp on Master Bus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
...Command+control+click on the top number in the delay comp window bottom of the channel.
Top number is the delay a channel is reporting, bottom number is total delay compensation being applied to the channel - usually you'll want to disable (cmd-ctl-click) the *bottom* number, though in some (but not most) cases the two will be the same.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2020 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.

Last edited by Rich Breen; 04-17-2020 at 08:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-17-2020, 11:09 PM
toodamnhipPT toodamnhipPT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Van Nuys
Posts: 12
Default Re: Is it OK to disable delay Comp on Master Bus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I don't think you can disable delay comp on a single buss or track; it's an all or nothing proposition.

toodamnhip - I seem to remember a fellow going by that name over in the Motunation forum for Digital Performer users. Same person by any chance?
Indeed, Ive moved on over to the Dark Side. lol...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-17-2020, 11:13 PM
toodamnhipPT toodamnhipPT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Van Nuys
Posts: 12
Default Re: Is it OK to disable delay Comp on Master Bus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,


Yeah you can disable delay comp on the master bus.


Might need it if you're syncing with video and bouncing etc




Chris
Thanks for your help Chris! In a later post you give that key command. That is my life now, learning PT key commands, having been a wiz at it 20 yrs ago and being in DP land ever since. Now Im back, missing DPs customizations and features, but truly loving the solidness and efficiency of the Dark Lord.."Pro Tools the ever present, ubiquitous one". But I am so sad that AAF or OMF don't seem to bring over plugs ins. Sigh sloppy playing to learn how to edit..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-18-2020, 04:09 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,364
Default Re: Is it OK to disable delay Comp on Master Bus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by toodamnhipPT View Post
Indeed, Ive moved on over to the Dark Side. lol...
Welcome to the fold.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay Comp problems again, Delay comp is RED but way below limits. soundeq Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 11-29-2011 12:01 PM
Can you disable Delay Compensation on Master? AINSLIE Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 02-15-2008 09:56 AM
PSP Master comp, nearest plugin comp to Manley Vari MU? crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-22-2007 05:21 PM
WOW, NO LIMIT on delay comp w/master and auxes!!!! McMasters Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-01-2006 10:11 AM
Delay Comp in Master Fader cachemira Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-17-2006 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com