Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2020, 05:54 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 294
Default Tap into onboard talkback mic without xmon - control cable pinout?

Does anyone know the actual pinout of the xmon control cable, as in what travels on what pin? I'm doing some remotes and currently using a talkback brought up an aux track sending to client, but would be handy to use the onboard mic and talkback button if I can. Don't have an xmon, but the onboard talkback mic must travel down one of the pins and ground down another or via the shell. Anyone know the actual route it takes?
thanks,

yours in isolation.
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2020, 10:47 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,734
Default Re: Tap into onboard talkback mic without xmon - control cable pinout?

I remember seeing some sort of midi pinout diagram before but I don't know if it matters how old your control surface is or not. What are you using? Hopefully a D-Command because I would love to know this info also!
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2020, 02:49 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 294
Default Re: Tap into onboard talkback mic without xmon - control cable pinout?

D Command ES. I've seen the midi pinout, that's for the connector on the xmon to use Eucon from memory. Might be able to wire up a connector from the control port on the D Command and try to find it with a multimeter maybe..got plenty of time on my hands...
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2020, 04:51 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,734
Default Re: Tap into onboard talkback mic without xmon - control cable pinout?

Have you have any luck with this? I've been too scared to try (and I don't have a 15 pin cable to break out)
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2020, 10:12 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 294
Default Re: Tap into onboard talkback mic without xmon - control cable pinout?

Not this far, I need to buy a 15 pin and solder some cable up so I can sit at the front of the D Command with a multi meter. It's on the list of things to do in lockdown soon as i run out of other things. I've just been using an external mic on an aux input for now.
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2020, 11:12 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,734
Default Re: Tap into onboard talkback mic without xmon - control cable pinout?

I’m doing the same but I’m now also dealing with my Omni mic pres not adjusting. That’s a story for another post.

I’m going to be buying this and see what I can do (hopefully without breaking something!)
https://www.amazon.com/breakout-Conn.../dp/B07DN9PRT2
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2020, 11:43 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 294
Default Re: Tap into onboard talkback mic without xmon - control cable pinout?

That's a cool looking thing, shame they don't ship to Australia. Do they have a female instead of male? If they did you could just plug the end of the control cable that normally goes into the xmon socket into it and check the screw terminals in the breakout box with a multimeter. Just have the talkback latched on and talk out loud while looking for a small voltage that fluctuates with your voice, it'd only be tiny, like in the low millivolts... I don't see how something will break if you are just measuring voltage between pins and ground...maybe if you short 2 pins together or short a pin to ground something might have an issue?
Unless you still have your spare main unit and can get to the traces in the meter bridge that the built in talkback is connected to, then just ping them with a continuity setting to the pins on the control socket?
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au

Last edited by Led; 04-16-2020 at 12:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2020, 03:20 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,558
Default Re: Tap into onboard talkback mic without xmon - control cable pinout?

Hi,


I very much doubt it as there are no hardwire audio connections to the control surface. just data information controlling the xmon




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2020, 04:45 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 294
Default Re: Tap into onboard talkback mic without xmon - control cable pinout?

Hi Chris, I believe the onboard talkback mic that is mounted in the meter bridge travels to the xmon via an unbalanced feed in the control cable. It must, otherwise how could it get to the xmon?
Cheers
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-16-2020, 05:54 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 924
Default Re: Tap into onboard talkback mic without xmon - control cable pinout?

The tailback pins are on the db15 control cable.

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xmon, listen mic and talkback amolin Avid S6 13 06-16-2016 07:22 PM
Give me please the 1622 interface cable pinout! PUL Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-17-2013 08:36 AM
XMON Eucon Software and wiring Control-Breakout Cable moacito System 5 3 05-02-2013 08:26 PM
System 5MC and XMON Talkback Mic Help Bear Jam System 5 6 11-30-2012 10:15 AM
rs232-rs422 machine control cable pinout Ghengis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 03-30-2005 10:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com