Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 01-05-2018, 02:03 AM
babaorum babaorum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: france
Posts: 62
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

it works great here on Windows 8.1.
Much more stable : I can open - close and re-open (before it crashes if I re-open after a session).
I'm a happy user now , thanks Avid
__________________
PC - windows 8.1 64 bits - Avid Pro Tools 2018.4 - Cubase 9.5.30 - wavelab element 9.5.
soundcard : ANTELOPE Discrete 4
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 01-05-2018, 03:52 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 568
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

Mac Sierra. Works great.

It seems to have better dsp management. Do other see this as well?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 01-06-2018, 11:17 AM
spock999 spock999 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ste-Julienne Qc Canada
Posts: 104
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

Just did the update and right away the CPU balancing in the System Usage is more stable ... on the song I'm working on at the moment anyway with a mixe of Waves plugs like H-delay SSL BUS and API 2500 , Time Will Tell
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 01-06-2018, 11:47 AM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 453
Default How good is PT 12.8.3?

If this is the last of the 12 updates I would be pleased. Has been working just plain well on both Mac and PC for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / TB3 AIC
PT12.8.2 HDX1 / Eucon 3.7 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / DIGIGRID DLS IO mode / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &
8 Thunderbolt

Late 2013 10.13 MacBook Pro
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 01-06-2018, 02:32 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 947
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by arche3 View Post
Mac Sierra. Works great.

It seems to have better dsp management. Do other see this as well?
I agree! I have an image backup of High Sierra and it works good there also but I find MacOs Sierra to be better overall. I'm sticking with Sierra for the time being. Pro Tools has never been better for me.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4 | Studio One 4 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo 8 Quad BF TB2 | UAD Octo Sat TB2 | UAD Quad Sat TB2 | Mac Pro 2014 3.5GHZ Hex D500 1TB SSD | 32GB Ram | MacOS Sierra 10.12.6 | OWC ThunderBay 4 TB 2 | Samsung EVO 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | UA-6176 | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | (2X) Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 01-06-2018, 03:08 PM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 454
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

Running great here.
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 01-12-2018, 11:27 AM
chipsloan chipsloan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: PDX
Posts: 2
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

We're using 12.8.3 with OS 10.11.6 and we still have terrible UI issues.

Avid says to wait for the next update. For us 12.8.1 is the last one that works well. The laggy UI problems are awful.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 01-12-2018, 04:07 PM
dalonso66's Avatar
dalonso66 dalonso66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sherman Oaks, USA
Posts: 48
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

Working great here with Sierra 10.12.6 as well!
__________________
Westmere Mac Pro 3.33 6 Core, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.4 HD - Avid Omni - Pro Tools Dock - Focal/Avantone Monitors

Last edited by dalonso66; 01-12-2018 at 04:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 01-12-2018, 06:31 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,576
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chipsloan View Post
We're using 12.8.3 with OS 10.11.6 and we still have terrible UI issues.

Avid says to wait for the next update. For us 12.8.1 is the last one that works well. The laggy UI problems are awful.
10.11.6 .. El Crap !!! people mentioned in the other thread that El Crap has bad UI issues .. you will probably get the same answer you received there .. upgrade to 10.12.6 ..
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 01-23-2018, 01:54 PM
Ken Skoglund Ken Skoglund is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sweden
Posts: 59
Default Re: How good is PT 12.8.3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanswurstlsepp View Post
12.8.3 runs pretty well here on HighSierra.
I'm getting an occasional AAE -9171 error.
This appears pretty soon after loading a session and letting it play for a couple of seconds.
I had even one -9171 error while PT wasn't playing. It popped up out of nothing.

In all cases, CPU usage was lower than 10%.

I'm having about 2 crashes per day (not related to -9171 error) - sometimes while PT does an AutoSave and I'm pressing a transport button at the d-command ... and sometimes "just so" ... but that's ok for as it's bout 2 times per day only.

OS, PT and all PlugIns were installed "from scratch" bout 2 weeks ago.
Running 12.8.3 on El Capitain 10.11.6, getting lots of -9171 errors also. Got those even before I updated to 12.8.3, but it seems to be more now. Small or large session doesn't seem to matter. MacPro Trashcan, HDX card in Magma chassi, Omni interface.Whats the safest OS for 12.8.3?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lots of plugins Ilok TDM/RTAS/AAX/VST/AU (good ones for a good price) usastra Buy & Sell 19 02-18-2013 10:46 AM
IS IT GOOD COMPRESSORS OR GOOD MASTERING NEIGHTD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-03-2005 09:22 AM
Good studio furniture at a good price? mastershredder 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 06-10-2005 10:47 AM
Grid use, one hits and time stretching, also good sites for good one hit sample compblue 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-05-2003 12:16 AM
Is MicroLogic AV a good a good MDI program? toecat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-12-2001 06:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com