Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2018, 02:50 AM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 186
Default Pro Tools hangs

Hi,

So I just installed pt 12.8.3 on my MacBook Pro, using an omni and thunderbolt interfaces. I got the demo session and a file I imported to play, but only through my mac's built in speakers. I could not get anything out of either headphone jack [omni or thunderbolt]. I switched the audio engine [I think] from "built-in" to "thunderbolt". Now pro tools won't launch. it hangs at "initializing audio engine".

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,


MD
__________________
MD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2018, 05:15 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,341
Default Re: Pro Tools hangs

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyduck View Post
Hi,

So I just installed pt 12.8.3 on my MacBook Pro, using an omni and thunderbolt interfaces. I got the demo session and a file I imported to play, but only through my mac's built in speakers. I could not get anything out of either headphone jack [omni or thunderbolt]. I switched the audio engine [I think] from "built-in" to "thunderbolt". Now pro tools won't launch. it hangs at "initializing audio engine".

What am I doing wrong?
Which version did you upgrade from? You need to have the correct iLok asset including the Digilink authorization.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...-and-Downloads
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2018, 02:32 AM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 186
Default Re: Pro Tools hangs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
Which version did you upgrade from? You need to have the correct iLok asset including the Digilink authorization.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...-and-Downloads
Thanks, Drew. I had all that going on. I reset the Omni and it seems to be working now.

My new problem is how get this version of Pro Tools [12.8.3] to open a bunch of older sessions with SDII audio files. I have an older version [7.3, I think] in storage. I read in another thread that the best way is to use an older version to convert everything. Is there any other [simple] way that you know of? Anyone?

Thanks,


MD
__________________
MD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2018, 04:50 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,341
Default Re: Pro Tools hangs

You could try Apple Compressor. I heard that does it.

I keep an OS10.8 partition around with PT10 on it for these tasks.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2018, 09:41 PM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 186
Default Re: Pro Tools hangs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
You could try Apple Compressor. I heard that does it.

I keep an OS10.8 partition around with PT10 on it for these tasks.
Will they give one a copy of PT10 to do this, if one already owns a perpetual license for 12.8.3? I never had PT10.


MD
__________________
MD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2018, 04:37 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,341
Default Re: Pro Tools hangs

Doubt it, but you can try and start a case.

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/f...pport-services
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 hangs Dmac252 Pro Tools 11 1 03-27-2014 05:40 AM
Pro Tools 7.3 Install hangs at the end rvs0002 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-10-2010 09:51 AM
Pro Tools hangs during Startup The Mink 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 26 10-17-2009 12:06 PM
Pro Tools Hangs when Record... Grandox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-24-2008 01:05 PM
Pro Tools hangs on Exit RandB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-17-2007 05:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com