Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2019, 10:35 AM
doaudio's Avatar
doaudio doaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 7
Default "playback engine does not support 48khz"

I turned on my computer today and launched a session I've been working on over the last month to suddenly get the error message "the current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48khz".

I have changed nothing whatsoever on my computer, why would be interface suddenly stop supporting 48k? All of my sessions for this project are in 48k and it will only give me the option of opening at 44.1k, 176k, or 192k. I have tried everything from trashing preferences, rebooting multiple times, disabling and re-enabling playback devices from the control panel, manually setting device sample rate and bit depth, changing default playback device (I found that this was the most common cause for this issue on the PC), installed ASIOS4all, uninstalled and reinstalled drivers, changed cables, NOTHING WORKS.

I have been at it for 5 hours to no avail. I guess my next step is to completely uninstall pro tools and reinstall to see if that works, but if anyone has any insight, please help!!! Could my interface's internal clock just not be working properly?

Win 10
ProTools 2018.12
M-Track 2x2
__________________
Derek O'Rourke
Location & Post Audio
Music Videos
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2019, 04:48 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,095
Default Re: "playback engine does not support 48khz"

Go into Control Panel>Sound and make sure your interface is NOT the default for Windows sounds/audio in the Play and Record tabs. Set your onboard soundcard as the default for Windows sounds/audio. If you had already done this "tweak", check it anyway as sometimes a Windows Update can change the default back to your interface. My USB Power Management sometimes also gets defaulted back to "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power".
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2019, 02:32 AM
doaudio's Avatar
doaudio doaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 7
Default Re: "playback engine does not support 48khz"

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Go into Control Panel>Sound and make sure your interface is NOT the default for Windows sounds/audio in the Play and Record tabs. Set your onboard soundcard as the default for Windows sounds/audio. If you had already done this "tweak", check it anyway as sometimes a Windows Update can change the default back to your interface. My USB Power Management sometimes also gets defaulted back to "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power".
As mentioned, I've done this many times, hasn't made a difference.
__________________
Derek O'Rourke
Location & Post Audio
Music Videos
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2019, 05:35 AM
Extreme Mixing Extreme Mixing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Van Nuys, CA. USA
Posts: 1,328
Default Re: "playback engine does not support 48khz"

Try this...
Launch Pro Tools. When the splash screen appears on the screen, hold down the "n" key on your keyboard, which will eventually open the Playback Engine dialog for Pro Tools. At the top of this window, you will see the 'Current Engine' drop-down menu. Choose a different Engine.

Steve
__________________
Steve Shepherd
Extreme Mixing
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 0kHz" Kahlil_J Pro Tools 12 1 01-27-2016 10:04 PM
"The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 KHz" error when tr eyeshow Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 19 09-09-2015 10:10 AM
"Current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 khz" pribb1 Third Party Interfaces 28 07-01-2015 08:47 AM
"current playback engine doesn't support sample rate" terracestudio Windows 2 04-17-2015 02:37 PM
"The current playback engine does not support a bit rate of 48kHZ" M-powered 8 beasleymusic Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-02-2011 03:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com