Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-19-2011, 11:53 AM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 501
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattrussell View Post
the original post is stunning to me. it really never ceases to amaze me the lengths people will go to around here to FIND a way to say something bad about PT. please folks, find something else to do. how about you go mix something? ya know, do some work or something that resembles it.
I'm with you on that!
Last I checked on the internet, there were a few movies, songs, tv shows, commercials, etc available, in a few languages too. "Some" of them have been done on PT. If it was that bad, how is it that it brings in slightly over a few BILLION $$$?

I wish I came up with something that was so bad that the whole planet still had to use it, made BILLIONS of $$$, and had a forum with people complaining on how bad it is.

Okay, done with coffee break, back to mixing.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-20-2011, 11:27 AM
NobleSix NobleSix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 9
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

In my experience, Pro Tools has NEVER worked on a brand new OS right away. Give it a few months..... no need to rush. Let the kinks get worked out.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-22-2011, 09:14 AM
nean nean is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 103
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by NobleSix View Post
In my experience, Pro Tools has NEVER worked on a brand new OS right away. Give it a few months..... no need to rush. Let the kinks get worked out.
ahem, the few months are over, 10.7 developer program is available since a while!
no further response or comments from avid, what's about the openness now?

Does that mean that ProTools9 STILL is legacy, what about the promise that PT9 is recoded from the ground up and now state of the art, was it just a marketing gag?
Why it is not compatible to 10.7 and why avid STILL doesn't comply with OSX developer guidelines ?


@protools evangelists: please keep to the point, we all know that protools is the very best daw in the universe, just magic, but the topic here is "ProTools + OSX 10.7"
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-22-2011, 09:30 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by nean View Post
ahem, the few months are over, 10.7 developer program is available since a while!
no further response or comments from avid, what's about the openness now?

Does that mean that ProTools9 STILL is legacy, what about the promise that PT9 is recoded from the ground up and now state of the art, was it just a marketing gag?
Why it is not compatible to 10.7 and why avid STILL doesn't comply with OSX developer guidelines ?


@protools evangelists: please keep to the point, we all know that protools is the very best daw in the universe, just magic, but the topic here is "ProTools + OSX 10.7"
What are you talking about?

10.7 hasn't even been released yet...

When was PT9 promised to be recoded from the ground up?

When has PT EVER been compatible with a .0 release of any OS?

__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-22-2011, 11:40 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,607
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Thanks for entertainment, gents. That's just good interwebs.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-22-2011, 12:55 PM
cody cody is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Talking Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by daeron80 View Post
Thanks for entertainment, gents. That's just good interwebs.
I agree. I love when I see comments like nean's. Back to work!
__________________
-----------
MacPro 8 Core 2.26 Nehalem • 20GB • 2011 MacBook Pro Quad i7 • 16GB • 10.10.1
PT 11 • Antelope Audio Zen Studio
McDSP v5 Plugins
IKMultimedia TRacks 3 DeluxeShadow Hills Mono Gama Black Lion AuteurStellar CM-6 Busman BA-L2 JJAudio Modified Mics Truth Audio TA-1A Monitors Yamaha NS10-Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-22-2011, 01:25 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by nean View Post
ahem, the few months are over, 10.7 developer program is available since a while!
no further response or comments from avid, what's about the openness now?

Does that mean that ProTools9 STILL is legacy, what about the promise that PT9 is recoded from the ground up and now state of the art, was it just a marketing gag?
Why it is not compatible to 10.7 and why avid STILL doesn't comply with OSX developer guidelines ?


@protools evangelists: please keep to the point, we all know that protools is the very best daw in the universe, just magic, but the topic here is "ProTools + OSX 10.7"
One thing that is so awesome about Digidesign/Avid is that they actually do extensive testing on their software updates and etc. before they release it to everyone. This takes months to do. I know many other DAW companies that don't do extensive testing and just release their updates to the public and let everyone else do the Beta testing.

Avid announces when their software is compatible with which versions of which OS in the "Technical Alerts" section of these forums. They have announced that their latest updates are compatible with 10.6.7 but they have not said they are compatible with 10.7.0.

Don't be antsy for them to announce 10.7.0 compatibility either. It probably will take at least 3-6 months after release before they will have created the updates, thoroughly tested them, and announced the update.

To be demanding Pro Tools to already be compatible with a not yet released OS is absurd at best.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-22-2011, 02:42 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,320
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by nean View Post
ahem, the few months are over, 10.7 developer program is available since a while!
no further response or comments from avid, what's about the openness now?

Does that mean that ProTools9 STILL is legacy, what about the promise that PT9 is recoded from the ground up and now state of the art, was it just a marketing gag?
Why it is not compatible to 10.7 and why avid STILL doesn't comply with OSX developer guidelines ?


@protools evangelists: please keep to the point, we all know that protools is the very best daw in the universe, just magic, but the topic here is "ProTools + OSX 10.7"


Generally, when a 3rd party software vendor releases a product, it is not advertised to be compatible with an OS that is not yet on the market. You have a version of Pro Tools that is not being sold as 10.7 compatible. Why would AVID release a fix for 10.7 compatibility now? Even if they have the developer version of Lion and have already solved the problem, there is absolutely zero reason that they should release the new version of PT9 to the general public right now. Wouldn't it be better that they keep testing and refining it until people can actually buy 10.7? Also from a marketing standpoint, wouldn't it be smarter to advertise lion compatibility after people actually can buy Lion?

If you have a developer version of Lion, I would guess that you signed an agreement not to talk about it. All you are doing with this thread is stepping on Apple's toes, you're telling people not to upgrade to Lion.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-22-2011, 03:18 PM
cdavis6406 cdavis6406 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southeastern U.S.
Posts: 236
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
One thing that is so awesome about Digidesign/Avid is that they actually do extensive testing on their software updates and etc. before they release it to everyone. This takes months to do. I know many other DAW companies that don't do extensive testing and just release their updates to the public and let everyone else do the Beta testing.

Avid announces when their software is compatible with which versions of which OS in the "Technical Alerts" section of these forums. They have announced that their latest updates are compatible with 10.6.7 but they have not said they are compatible with 10.7.0.

Don't be antsy for them to announce 10.7.0 compatibility either. It probably will take at least 3-6 months after release before they will have created the updates, thoroughly tested them, and announced the update.

To be demanding Pro Tools to already be compatible with a not yet released OS is absurd at best.
But I do love how they have to release a quick fix for a just released update. Oopps forgot about that midi file. and so forth.

And sure theyll have to get lion. you dont think they wont, does anyone? In a prefect world they would say, "no worries DUCERS" were are on top of it. So purchases, upgrades, DAW and hardware upgrades can be factored in to the Lion transition. (Without stepping on any little toes).

But in the real AVID world they barely hang on to the updates for established OS systems much less an whole new one. So one can expect about what every single person here has speculated. Wait.

Nothing new to anyone,,,,,so we can just shut the F up and wait, like were told.

Peasants, jesters, cattle,,,,,,,,,,,HOW DARE YOU QUESTION THE ALMIGHTY, LIFE GIVING AUTHORITY OF OUR LORD AND SAVIOR....... AVID H. CHRIST.

edit: Thats humor by the way.
__________________
Mac Pro, Snow PT 10HD,Sequoia, Reaper
W7/64, PT 9HD,Sequoia, Reaper
192 HD, HD-N, 002C BLA,
BLA AGB,Autuer,Lucid,
MicroCLock, Pultec, UA, Sebatron, Focusrite, Trident,API, A-Designs, Purple Audio
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-24-2011, 05:26 PM
NobleSix NobleSix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 9
Default Re: OSX 10.7 Lion + PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdavis6406 View Post
,,,,,,,,,,,HOW DARE YOU QUESTION THE ALMIGHTY, LIFE GIVING AUTHORITY OF OUR LORD AND SAVIOR....... AVID H. CHRIST.
Ha!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impossible to start Pro Tools on MacPro after downgrade Mountain Lion back to LION DESVED Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 05-21-2013 03:18 PM
lion -> mountain lion question grant howarth macOS 3 05-01-2013 01:24 PM
Lion or Mountain Lion for mid-2009 MBP with PT9 miezurecords macOS 0 03-17-2013 12:38 AM
Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could? EricWillhelm macOS 9 01-11-2013 10:55 AM
Macbook Pro+lion+PT9 :-( / iMac+Lion+PT9 = :-) Pehja macOS 12 11-08-2011 01:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com