Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2004, 01:23 PM
E-an E-an is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 128
Default Protools duplicates audio file on opening sessions

Hi there,

Im having a problem whereby upon opening sessions, ProTools (6.2) duplicates all the files in the session quickly filling up my hard drives. Its basically appending .1 to the end of all the files.

We're running a d24 core system (w 2x dsp cards), on a G4 1.25Ghz, 1Gb Ram, 120Gb Ext Lacie FW drive, with OSX 10.2.

If anyone has any suggestions I'd be most grateful.

Thanks,
Iain
__________________
Todays posting was brought to you by the letter e
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2004, 01:46 PM
Giles Reaves Giles Reaves is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashville, TN Area
Posts: 178
Default Re: Protools duplicates audio file on opening sess

Sounds like an "enforce PC/Mac Compatibility" issue.

Are you seeing this dialog when you try to open the file: "Please choose a folder for the converted audio files"?

I can create this situation on my Mac by creating a file with "enforce PC/Mac Compatibility" selected, and then recording some audio (after creating an audio track), and closing then re-opening the same file.

The way I got around it was to create a new session in the format I desired (checking the audio file format of the files in your audio folder) and importing the tracks (and MIDI tempo track if used) and checking "refer to source media (where possible)".

Hope this helps...
__________________
Giles Reaves
Somewhere Between Tennessee & Utah...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Import Session Data" Audio File Duplicates acstctws Pro Tools 10 1 03-01-2013 03:06 PM
Pro tools making audio file duplicates kieranguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-07-2010 04:01 PM
Protools crashes on opening sessions Etienne_C Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-29-2010 06:31 AM
Problem opening Mac Protools HD sessions on Win PTLE csholtmeier 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-23-2007 09:08 PM
everytime I open a pt template file it duplicates tommy gunn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-07-2006 08:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com