Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-24-2014, 01:12 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Re: Audio interfaces

I would go with the Universal Pre's

And yes unison tech is just on the pre's not adat.

Want More pre's get the quad Apollo .

And for the record I own the Saffire range of products your discussing, they are not bad, but I would rather have an Apollo if it was between the two
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-24-2014, 01:16 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Audio interfaces

You mentioned updating your entire rig, what host (computer) are you thinking of?
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-24-2014, 01:22 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 588
Default Re: Audio interfaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradch00 View Post
You mentioned updating your entire rig, what host (computer) are you thinking of?
Most likely a MacBook Pro w/ i7 n PCI storage. Although I might check out a PC so I can play a couple video games.. Not sure why games are never compatible w/ Mac's. I'm not that familiar w/ PC's tho, don't know what brands r better, seems like there might be more margin of error goin the PC route too.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-24-2014, 01:38 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,652
Default Re: Audio interfaces

Mac buy'em and most will work great with PT.

PC - build your own man. More bang for the buck
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-24-2014, 01:49 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 588
Default Re: Audio interfaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Mac buy'em and most will work great with PT.

PC - build your own man. More bang for the buck
I wanna get a laptop tho. When you "build your own PC" isn't it a tower? Also, just to confirm what I think I already know.. I should stay away from the i5 processor w/ PT, right? It would just free up a good chunk of change if the i5 was in play.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-24-2014, 01:53 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Audio interfaces

So that's why I was asking, Macs are coming with Thunderbolt and USB and that may be a determining factor in an interface, although you can get a FW to Thunderbolt adapter, it may also be an additional point of complexity for trouble shooting. And I would recommend an i7 processor.
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-24-2014, 03:04 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 588
Default Re: Audio interfaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradch00 View Post
So that's why I was asking, Macs are coming with Thunderbolt and USB and that may be a determining factor in an interface, although you can get a FW to Thunderbolt adapter, it may also be an additional point of complexity for trouble shooting. And I would recommend an i7 processor.
Ya, gonna go w/ a Mac. The audio part is WAY more important to me; I could really give a [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] about the video game part. I was thinking about ways I could record drums w/ the Apollo Twin. I have a KORG D16 recording unit. I could always record additional tracks w/ that, then sync it to PT. I'd also have to match up the tracks manually, which might be a pain in the ass. Also, the D16 does 24bit, but only goes to 48k. If I was to combine tracks recorded in 24/192 w/ ones in 24/48, would that cause any problems? Obviously the d16 mic pres don't come close the the UA's.

I have until Dec 31 to make a decision. That's when the UA plugin promo ends, which includes the 610 micpre that uses the unison tech.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-24-2014, 03:05 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 588
Default Re: Audio interfaces

Psst. Since when is this forum censored?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-24-2014, 03:10 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Audio interfaces

going on 2 years
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-30-2014, 12:48 PM
adam79's Avatar
adam79 adam79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 588
Default Re: Audio interfaces

Well, I'm coming down to the wire; I have to choose an interface by tonight. I was checking out the prices on the UA plugins and I realized that once I buy this new DAW I won't have any money left to buy any extra UA plugs that aren't included in the promotion (610 pre [unison], EMT reverb and EQ suite). I might be able to buy one or two ua plugs down the road, but no time soon. Since I won't be able to take advantage of the UA plugins, is the Apollo Twin really worth confining myself to the limited micpres (2), when I'll only be able to use the 610 unison pre on those 2 micpre inputs.. and just the other promo UA plugs on the other tracks? It basically comes down to whether the 2 mic pres w/ unison are so superior to anything else that they trump the option of having 4 to 8 pres at my disposal.

Thanks,
Adam
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Interfaces barry1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-15-2010 05:53 AM
m audio interfaces badda Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 03-28-2007 11:09 PM
Trying to use two Audio Interfaces on one Mac Rge General Discussion 0 03-10-2004 07:06 AM
mix 24/nt audio interfaces Slypolk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 03-05-1999 08:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com