Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2010, 05:28 PM
aka21stCentury aka21stCentury is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Loma Prieta Fault
Posts: 779
Default Whoopi! Studio Vision Pro works on 9.2.2 & 001

On a G-4 w/ that buggy Altivec!!!!

Can you believe it. Days and days of digitest errors and changing slot order taking cards out, open firmware (forgot what that was didn't you?)

Anyway. Written for 8.6 even USB Opcode MIDI driver works. I'm stoked. But if for some reason I try to startup Pro Tools a clean install of 5.1.1 it breaks the 001 card. 4 days more of this crap and I'll be committed.

What is the point? Consolidate tracks. Save to standardized MIDI.

QUESTION: So now I have to remove resource forks from everything. So do I use Pro Tools? Import and save enforce/mac etc? Do I then have to boot into Tiger or Panther then re-save?

I should convert the SD-1 and SD-2 files to wav. And use broadcast wav or?

Also. Since I am familiar with OMS and FreeMIDI but have not dealt at all with OS-X core midi how do I handle MIDI so that I have Standardized MIDI for either Tiger or Leopard PPC on PTs 7.4 and also PTs 8 on a W_7 ASUS quadcore?

Is there a trick app or something that Rip Van Winkle missed while dozing off? I have a lot of sequenced based songs recorded in SVP 4.2 as well older Vision stuff (just Midi) I need to bring out of legacy into a more modern system.

What is the best way to handle Core MIDI export to W_7 or XP? I plan on using PTs 8.1 and Reaper beta 64 bit. But to be honest. I have never even unzipped or installed any audio/MIDI app from W-95 on... never. I am flying blind here.

Can someone offer an old dawg in pain, forcing myself to sit here and type? Got to get back my creativity brothers and sisters. Lay it out for me.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2010, 06:25 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Whoopi! Studio Vision Pro works on 9.2.2 & 001

Quote:
Originally Posted by aka21stCentury View Post
On a G-4 w/ that buggy Altivec!!!!

Can you believe it. Days and days of digitest errors and changing slot order taking cards out, open firmware (forgot what that was didn't you?)

Anyway. Written for 8.6 even USB Opcode MIDI driver works. I'm stoked. But if for some reason I try to startup Pro Tools a clean install of 5.1.1 it breaks the 001 card. 4 days more of this crap and I'll be committed.

What is the point? Consolidate tracks. Save to standardized MIDI.

QUESTION: So now I have to remove resource forks from everything. So do I use Pro Tools? Import and save enforce/mac etc? Do I then have to boot into Tiger or Panther then re-save?

I should convert the SD-1 and SD-2 files to wav. And use broadcast wav or?

Also. Since I am familiar with OMS and FreeMIDI but have not dealt at all with OS-X core midi how do I handle MIDI so that I have Standardized MIDI for either Tiger or Leopard PPC on PTs 7.4 and also PTs 8 on a W_7 ASUS quadcore?

Is there a trick app or something that Rip Van Winkle missed while dozing off? I have a lot of sequenced based songs recorded in SVP 4.2 as well older Vision stuff (just Midi) I need to bring out of legacy into a more modern system.

What is the best way to handle Core MIDI export to W_7 or XP? I plan on using PTs 8.1 and Reaper beta 64 bit. But to be honest. I have never even unzipped or installed any audio/MIDI app from W-95 on... never. I am flying blind here.

Can someone offer an old dawg in pain, forcing myself to sit here and type? Got to get back my creativity brothers and sisters. Lay it out for me.
I came across a link to StudioVision 2.5 here on the DUC and was suprised that it installed and seemed perfectly fine on XP SP3 (Windows Media Center 2005 Outlaw Edition). This app is/was way before my time and I don't have any need for it (or a clue how to use it) but I was surprised that it seemed to work just fine. From what I could tell its serial MIDI only I dont think it supports USB MIDI.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2010, 08:12 PM
aka21stCentury aka21stCentury is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Loma Prieta Fault
Posts: 779
Default Re: Whoopi! Studio Vision Pro works on 9.2.2 & 001

But anyway. Consolidate all tracks. Standard midi. Open Standard Midi up in Pro Tools n (Pray) and import audio and convert to wav. Broadcast or just wav? Then re-save.

But... MIDI OMS how to deal? I can enforce/pc mac compatiblilty for Pro Tools but what happens with OMS on windows since it doesn't exist?

It makes more sense for me to go up in stages. First to tiger or leopard. then to W-7 on Asus quad core. But I have no concept how freeMidi or OMS substitutes work in either OS-X or Windows?

I have been taking screenshots to refer back to but even this is tedius because OS-9 uses some bizaar unsupported pix file.

Any help please on the MIDI transferance?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2010, 08:59 PM
nedorama nedorama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 570
Default Re: Whoopi! Studio Vision Pro works on 9.2.2 & 001

I had Studio Vision Pro up to I think 4.5, and when it was done, i converted all of my songs to Standard MIDI Files. If you use SVP with the Queue feature to have verse, chorus, bridge, strung together, you'll need to capture sequence to have one continuous track.

I seem to remember several SMF options in SVP - I would try each one on a small piece and then see if it opens in your windows machine.

OMS - Windows MIDI - read your manual and it will tell you how to set it up. You may have to tweak track assignments, but it's a few minutes of work per track and not that bad.

Audio - capture the full length track as audio - you don't want strip silence as it will open up as 1 continuous AIFF track without the right timing in PT.

MIDI instruments - while you're at it, bounce them down in SVP to get them as audio tracks just in case.

And to be safe, bounce the entire SVP sequence down to stereo AIFF while you're at it to have a safety copy.

Good luck; there are other SVP sites with forums, including Gibson's site and other's on the web.
__________________
Regards,
Ned
Monkey Boy Studios
2013 15" MacBook Pro, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.14.6; 512GB SSD System drive, Glyph GT050Q 1.5TB & 2TB FW800 drives
Summit Audio 2BA-221, TLA-50 -->Eleven Rack, Pro Tools 2019.6
Plugins: McDSP, PSP, SoundToys, Izotope/Exponential, Bomb Factory, AIR PTIEP, AAS, Arturia Collection, SoundRadix, BlueCat Audio, Massey DRT, Sugar Bytes Cyclops, Sonoma WireWorks Drumcore 4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2010, 07:52 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,605
Default Re: Whoopi! Studio Vision Pro works on 9.2.2 & 001

This brings back memories. I spent many many hours in SVP during the 1990s. So sad when it and OMS went away.

I don't understand the MIDI questions. A Standard MIDI File will play on anything. I've exported SMFs from SVP on Mac and imported them into PT and many other programs on both Mac and PC. It's just MIDI. It doesn't care about platform. Export MIDI to SMF from any program on any platform, copy to any system, import into any audio program, reassign each track to an appropriate instrument, end of story.

When you copy a file from Mac to Windows, the resource forks are stripped automatically. You don't need any special software, just some way to transfer the files from OS9 to XP. A USB flash drive, ftp, email attachment, CD-R, something like that.

WAV is WAV. Broadcast WAV just allows more metadata. If SVP can write BWF, fine, but it's not necessary. Plain WAVs will work just as well.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2010, 08:06 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,605
Default Re: Whoopi! Studio Vision Pro works on 9.2.2 & 001

As far as I know, FreeMIDI and OMS have nothing to do with using Pro Tools or Reaper on any platform. Whatever Pro Tools interface you use will be your MIDI interface. Set up your MIDI Studio in PT (under the Setup menu), and you're ready to go.

Gosh, I miss the Studio 5. And SVP's MIDI editing capabilities. Holy cow. There is nothing - nothing like it anymore.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2014, 03:06 PM
supernova777 supernova777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora, ON
Posts: 33
Default Re: Whoopi! Studio Vision Pro works on 9.2.2 & 001

Quote:
Originally Posted by aka21stCentury View Post
But... MIDI OMS how to deal? I can enforce/pc mac compatiblilty for Pro Tools but what happens with OMS on windows since it doesn't exist?

It makes more sense for me to go up in stages. First to tiger or leopard. then to W-7 on Asus quad core. But I have no concept how freeMidi or OMS substitutes work in either OS-X or Windows?
oms for windows does exist -- but like i said on my comment for svp2.5
it was written for windows 95 osr2.. itwas made before windows 98 was released in 1997 or 1998 i think. or maybe earlier.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aka21stCentury View Post
I have been taking screenshots to refer back to but even this is tedius because OS-9 uses some bizaar unsupported pix file.
the format it uses is called .PICT and is supported by many image processing programs, as i suggested one of the easiest ways of converting this is using the graphicConverter app found on your quicksilver applications cd that comes with the restore disc set. or u can download a trial from macintoshgarden.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-11-2014, 03:01 PM
supernova777 supernova777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora, ON
Posts: 33
Default Re: Whoopi! Studio Vision Pro works on 9.2.2 & 001

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
I came across a link to StudioVision 2.5 here on the DUC and was suprised that it installed and seemed perfectly fine on XP SP3 (Windows Media Center 2005 Outlaw Edition). This app is/was way before my time and I don't have any need for it (or a clue how to use it) but I was surprised that it seemed to work just fine. From what I could tell its serial MIDI only I dont think it supports USB MIDI.
it may have looked like it was working just fine but i doubt it would..
that app is for windows 95.. it installs easily +instantly + works great on OSR2

not the same situation under win98se i had problems with it so i doubt it would have worked under XP.... i will now have to investigate this of course.. gee thanks lol
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-29-2010, 07:02 AM
colinmansfield colinmansfield is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 183
Default Re: Whoopi! Studio Vision Pro works on 9.2.2 & 001

http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/opcodeusers/

The Opcode Users Group is still quite active and some people on there (Doug Dayson in particular) have extensive experience with SVP, Pro Tools and migrating to more current (as in "still living") software.

In the meantime, the advice you're getting here is great! I would suggest saving your audio as .wav (in 24 bits if you can). You should consider saving the audio as interleaved stereo -- PT can import multiple mono (left and right channel) files, but some other programs may have problems. (Of course, I'm thinking of iTunes and the like here, not so much pro audio programs)

Also, make note of your MIDI destinations and patches. I found the MIDI files I made from SVP to sometimes be a bit mangled when it came to exporting the text; I ended up having to go back and refer to the original SVP projects to be sure I had the right instruments going... You could take screen shots of the tracks overview.

Another thought -- if you're going to a newer computer (a G5 or even a Mac Pro, and I notice you mention Windows 7, so a PC), why not keep the G4 and Vision as a MIDI machine? Vision's MIDI is still awesome and it has features I haven't seen anywhere else (like being able to find and edit multiple events in the same dialog box, and replace anything in a track with anything on the clipboard -- like MIDI drum hits with drum samples...).
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Colin Mansfield

Mac Pro, 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 32 GB RAM, OS X 10.8.5
PT 10.3.10, cheapo Behringer interface (because my Digi 002 Rack stopped working)

Bandcamp
Soundcloud
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-29-2010, 08:30 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,605
Default Re: Whoopi! Studio Vision Pro works on 9.2.2 & 001

Quote:
Originally Posted by colinmansfield View Post
and migrating to more current (as in "still living") software.
If on life support. ahem.

But seriously, great pointers!
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Studio Vision Pro - Audio works great on OS9 now ! really Steve Rieck 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 10-16-2002 06:11 AM
Anyone still using Opcode Vision or Studio Vision? Boom Chic MIDI 1 05-22-2002 12:35 AM
001 and Studio Vision Pro? MC1000000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 05-17-2001 06:01 AM
Anyone using HUI with Studio Vision? Boom Chic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-20-2000 12:26 AM
Z STUDIO VISION 4.0 EARDELI Post - Surround - Video 1 06-25-1998 04:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com