Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 05-22-2020, 07:29 AM
gnjlee gnjlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 193
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by junkgear View Post
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-22-2020, 08:34 AM
bartosz idzi bartosz idzi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 98
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5

Looks like the SoundBase have been touched also.
On 2020.3, I could not tag multiple soundfiles without getting a crash. Also, when you add a folder to Sound Library now it correctly sees all the files (had a problem with that before, go figure!) We will see how it goes :)
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x X5690 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb RAM - SSD 256 Gb - SSD 1TB - OS 10.14.6 - Metric Halo 2882 + Lucid 88192 - Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-22-2020, 08:35 AM
philgrab philgrab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Posts: 153
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5

Windows 10 user reporting it all went very smooth when I updated the Eucon, Avid Control and then Protools to 2020.5 and so far no issues. There were some intermittent pops and crackle on playback due to a power outage and my bios reverted its hyperthreading and C-state settings to default. Once I reset them per Avid's instruction all the noise is gone. So for now, it's all good.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-22-2020, 10:04 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,226
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5

I'm having no issues here with 2020.5.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-22-2020, 02:34 PM
darbyclash34 darbyclash34 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 231
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by philgrab View Post
Windows 10 user reporting it all went very smooth when I updated the Eucon, Avid Control and then Protools to 2020.5 and so far no issues. There were some intermittent pops and crackle on playback due to a power outage and my bios reverted its hyperthreading and C-state settings to default. Once I reset them per Avid's instruction all the noise is gone. So for now, it's all good.
Question for you on hyperthreading. How much of a performance drop in terms of plugin counts etc do you notice with it off?
__________________
C. Shawn Eib
Owner, Sounds Like Audio, LLC
facebook.com/soundslikeaudio
shawn@soundslikeaudiollc.com

Providing recording, mixing, and post-production audio services, as well as consultation and both on-site and remote pro audio tech support. Shoot us an email for more info!
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-22-2020, 02:49 PM
Juan Garcia Juan Garcia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mexico
Posts: 54
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 - hidden tracks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by abc1mce2 View Post
Did you update the Avid Control App?
I did. Now I'm stuck with PT without Avid Control
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-22-2020, 03:28 PM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 626
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5

My app updated as usual. Didn't have to search on the App store. It was in my update list. Did have to re-add my surface to EuCon but it's working here.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-22-2020, 05:33 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 525
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
I'm having no issues here with 2020.5.
Same here. Several mixes both with and without video at various frame rates. All smooth. I'll ask one of my clients to send me an OMF instead of AAF for the next project, just to be sure.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2020.9.1, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Octo; Mac Pro 12-core 3.46, 64GB RAM, Mojave, Logic Pro 10.5.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-2 Quad, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Mojave, MOTU 8-Pre-ES, Pro Tools 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-22-2020, 08:35 PM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,201
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5

Running fine here so far.
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 6.02
RME, Daking, Heritage, ISA, Sytek

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 05-23-2020, 07:41 AM
underground123 underground123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
10.15.4 working wonderfully here but it took me half a week to do a VERY clean install. And there is a difference even with a factory install and emptying your system drive.
Hello JFreak, could you please define "VERY" clean install vs. "Clean Install?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 09:01 AM
Pro Tools 2020.1 off the wall Pro Tools 2019 138 01-21-2020 08:12 PM
New Avid Link 2020.1 - launched today 1/16/2020 marianna Licensing & Accounts 8 01-17-2020 12:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com