Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2004, 10:53 PM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default DSP Farm card not recognized in OSX???

I'm running a 533 g4 with 9.2.2 and 10.2.8
In PT 5.1.3 (OS9.2.2) the system will recognize my MIX card, DSP II farm , and original farm.
When I run PT 6.1, only the MIX and DSP II farm are recognized, the old farm card is not
What gives??? I've run Digitest and no problems in either OS.

I need to straighten this out before starting a DVD project.
HELP!!

G4 533 OS 9.2.2/10.2.8 on same unpartitioned drive
Cheetah 18g Ultra-wide SCSI drive, Maxtor 120g drive.



Steve
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2004, 03:25 PM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: DSP Farm card not recognized in OSX???

c'mon guys...HELP
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2004, 04:13 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,217
Default Re: DSP Farm card not recognized in OSX???

At the upper left of this page is a link called "Compatibility" try reading it!!!!!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2004, 05:30 PM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: DSP Farm card not recognized in OSX???

They work for me . . . they're supposed to.

dualG4 / 10.2.3 / 6.2.3
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2004, 06:14 PM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: DSP Farm card not recognized in OSX???

I read that already and saw nothing about DSP Farm cards not working in OSX except for the compatability with G4's which as I mentioned are seen in my 5.1.3 version. (note the G4 533 mention)
They were previously recognized in my v6.0, for some reason not 6.1

I find it hard to believe that a pretty simple question has to be answered with such a smart a**
answer, especially when I read other posts that are a simple as "how do I make a reverb send"???
and there are a zillion replies to something so basic.

If you don't have any help to offer don't reply!!! I can get sarcasm from my boss or my dad for that matter.....lol
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-27-2004, 10:30 AM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: DSP Farm card not recognized in OSX???

?
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-27-2004, 10:41 AM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: DSP Farm card not recognized in OSX???

So what do you mean by a DSP II Farm and an original farm.
Aren't they all DSPFarm cards?
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-27-2004, 12:30 PM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: DSP Farm card not recognized in OSX???

that's what I thought, but when running Digi Test, the cards were listed as
Mix
DSP Farm II
DSP Farm

all cards tested fine. even after trashing prefs, etc the 2nd farm is still not seen.
strange indeed, maybe a 6.1 thing??

steve
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 3GHz
10.8.5, PT10.3.9
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7 Quad Core
10.12.6, PT12.8.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-27-2004, 12:42 PM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: DSP Farm card not recognized in OSX???

The only thing that keeps crossing my mind regarding your problem is the PCI Matchmaker chip that these cards need for G3 compatibility.
http://answerbase.digidesign.com/detail.cfm?DID=6343

But that is a hardware issue, and if they work with PT5 then it follows that they should work with PT6.

I cannot find any distinction between DSP Farm, and DSP Farm II. The answerbase document listed above does mention the DSP Farm I card which leads me to guess that the DSP Farm II is one that shipped with the updated chip. In that case an upgraded DSP Farm I would be identical to a DSP Farm II.

The only other thing could have something to do with there being two DSP Farm cards in your rig. What would happen if you swapped their position?


__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-27-2004, 12:50 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: DSP Farm card not recognized in OSX???

YEs there is an older version of the DSP Farm card. It applies for Farms that use the "F" series layout (Serial # starts with F, I would have to open my Mac to check but I believe this is right). There used to be some answerbase notes that eplained the issues with these;

1) Not suitable for I/O in G3 or G4, you will get intermittent clicks and pops
2) Not G3/G4 compatible without the white wire mods.

I got one of these from E-bay a year or so ago and learned. Mine has the white wire mods, but gave me problems as an I/O. I just switched to one of my DSPII cards for that and all has been well (PT 5.1.1, OS9.2.2 Dual 1MHz G4 Quicksilver.

Give Tech support a call and send your card in if needed.

Good Luck
-Lee
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DSP Farm not recognized in PT6.01 MXR Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-19-2003 12:03 AM
processing power QE farm card vs. mix farm card lennox Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 03-03-2003 02:24 PM
'Classic' Farm vs. Mix Farm card - both have SRAM? Last Legend Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-15-2003 04:46 PM
Mix Farm not recognized with d24 in 9600 mikejavo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-25-2002 09:09 AM
DSP FARM CARD NOT BEING RECOGNIZED BY PT Hans Mues Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-29-2001 06:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com