Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2016, 09:14 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Anyone else getting the beachball and having to re-start Pro Tools when attempting to instantiate newer plugins, like Slate VMR, SoundToys S EQ or Eventide Room etc, on larger sessions? Is this a factor of the RAM limits of Pro Tools 10 HD or is there possibly something wrong with my system? Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.

Last edited by WernerF; 11-27-2016 at 11:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2016, 12:44 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

What are your system specs?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2016, 08:15 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
What are your system specs?
Early 2008, 2.8 Quad Core Mac running 10.8.5 OS. I'm running the last update of Pro Tools 10 HD6 in a Magma Chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2016, 05:46 PM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 821
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

There is a problem with the Newer slate plugs and PT 10.
They are working on it.
I'm going to 12.
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2016, 09:05 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bookerv12 View Post
There is a problem with the Newer slate plugs and PT 10.
They are working on it.
I'm going to 12.
Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately I can't go to 12 'cause I'm running HD and my workflow doesn't allow for having to use so much Native stuff even with HDX, which I have but don't use.

Also, I've had a couple of Phone Support appointments with the Slate Tech Support guys, unless there is some new info here that they weren't aware of, they have no new knowledge of any problems with their plugins and P Tools 10. They re-installed my VMR and it worked for about 10 minutes and then started exhibiting the same spinning beachball behavior. It now loads only in extremely small sessions. Their only suggestion was that I go to 12 as well. Looks like the 32 bit RAM limit is rearing it's ugly head once again. Was hoping that there was another solution to this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2016, 09:17 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,823
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Unfortunately PT10/AAX32bit is a lost cause now that everyone has their eye on PT12/AAX64bit
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2016, 01:34 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Unfortunately PT10/AAX32bit is a lost cause now that everyone has their eye on PT12/AAX64bit
Definitely not everyone. Many pro's and studios are still using 10 TDM because it is a much better workflow than Native or HDX Pro Tools. Unfortunately, the fact that 32 bit PT 10 has problems is not news to anyone.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-29-2016, 01:51 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,823
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

I meant that nobody is developing for 32bit anymore, if they do bugfixes it'll be 64bit
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-29-2016, 05:59 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I meant that nobody is developing for 32bit anymore, if they do bugfixes it'll be 64bit
You're absolutely right about that. Not looking for bug fixes, just some suggestions or thoughts about the problem because a lot of software is still available as 32 bit. Like I said, many people are still using P Tools 10 TDM and it would be great if there were some way around this spinning beachball issue.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-30-2016, 02:12 AM
suicune suicune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Spinning Beachball when attempting to instatiate newer plugins

FWIW Soundtoys Sie-Q is opening fine on my system, specs below. I don't have any of the other plugs you specifically mentioned but if there are others you're having the problem with list them and I will see if I have them. The only beachballing problems I've been having is when attempting to open audio suite plugs. I've not yet had time to sit down and try troubleshoot that issue yet as I've not been running this machine for very long and don't need audio suite frequently enough for it to be a showstopper for me.

OS 10.9.5, MacPro 5,1 12-core 3.06 GHz Westmere (2010), 32GB RAM, PT HD 10.3.10, HD3. All internal cards, no chassis.
__________________
M2 Studios
Wolverhampton, UK
http://www.madhat.co.uk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 won't boot .... spinning beachball boogiemotel macOS 1 12-22-2011 10:48 AM
Spinning beachball ? albee1952 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-31-2010 12:35 PM
spinning beachball when I hit record beefstew Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-24-2007 01:40 AM
DP and spinning beachball audiobrad Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-14-2005 07:45 AM
Spinning Beachball..... dropking Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 10-09-2004 11:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com