Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2014, 12:40 PM
nwrstudio nwrstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: I've gone back so far ... I'm in front of me!
Posts: 94
Default PT 11 and Focusrite Headphone Mixes

Now that we are latency free with PT 11, does anyone know if there is a new method of setting up multiple headphone mixes when using the Focuserite Saffire Pro 14, and Pro 40? It seems that we would be able to bypass the routing program that's included with the Focusrite interfaces. I'd much rather make Cue busses in PT and control them from there. I'd like to be able to do 6 stereo cue mixes if possible.
__________________
The Freakin' Harborcreekin'
www.norwegianwoodstudio.com

Sweetwater Creation Station 400 i7, 3.4 ghz, W7 Home Premium, PT 11.3, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 & Pro 14, Focusrite Octopre Mark II, A&H GL2400/24, Event 20/20 V2's, 2-24" Video monitors, a whole buncha hard drives, 3 lava lamps AND an official "unsuck" button!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2014, 03:24 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: PT 11 and Focusrite Headphone Mixes

I'm still new with my Pro 40 but you can do multiple headphone mixes with no latency. From the User Guide:

"Saffire MixControl software provides mixing and routing to and from the DAW, allowing control over which signals are sent from the sequencer to each output. All inputs on the Saffire PRO 40 are routed directly to your DAW software for recording, but Saffire MixControl also allows you to route these signals to your monitors so that you can listen to the audio signals with zero latency - before they arrive at your DAW."

"The Saffire MixControl software includes a total of 16 mixes, each with a maximum of 18 channels in the mix. Up to 16 mono mixes or 8 stereo mixes, (or any combination of mono and stereo mixes,) are available, making up a total of 16 mix channels.
Each Mix can contain up to 18 of the possible 40 inputs signals, and each mix can be sent to any number of outputs.
Each mix shares the same source inputs, but all other mixer controls are independent in each mix.
The Mixer Section is used to create mixes for monitoring purposes. The mixes you create do not affect how the audio inputs are routed to the DAW, nor does it affect the audio level of the signal to be recorded. What you set up in the mixer section of Saffire MixControl only affects what is heard in the outputs."

Have fun !
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2014, 05:54 PM
nwrstudio nwrstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: I've gone back so far ... I'm in front of me!
Posts: 94
Default Re: PT 11 and Focusrite Headphone Mixes

Thanks for the reply! Yes, that's how I used the Mix Control software in PT 10, but now that I have PT 11 and it's latency free, I have to assume there's a different way to route the headphone mixes directly from PT, thus bypassing having to use Foucusrite's software. It would save time. Of course, I could be wrong in my assumption.
__________________
The Freakin' Harborcreekin'
www.norwegianwoodstudio.com

Sweetwater Creation Station 400 i7, 3.4 ghz, W7 Home Premium, PT 11.3, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 & Pro 14, Focusrite Octopre Mark II, A&H GL2400/24, Event 20/20 V2's, 2-24" Video monitors, a whole buncha hard drives, 3 lava lamps AND an official "unsuck" button!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2014, 08:15 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,215
Default PT 11 and Focusrite Headphone Mixes

Where did you get the idea that Pt's 11 is latency free?

So far my PT11 test rig is less stable at lower buffer sizes, and that equates to latency. Whoever told you Pro Tools is Latency free might be misinformed. I'm still running my rig the same way I did with PT10 with my pro 40 and octopre, via the mix control.

Unless you have HD and can use Input Monitoring, then normal protools is still the same ole.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2018.10, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2014, 08:33 PM
nwrstudio nwrstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: I've gone back so far ... I'm in front of me!
Posts: 94
Default Re: PT 11 and Focusrite Headphone Mixes

Well, ok. How about really low latency. Compared to my install of PT 10, I currently have no issues with realtime monitoring with my buffer set at 32. Maybe I'm just a lucky son of a gun!
__________________
The Freakin' Harborcreekin'
www.norwegianwoodstudio.com

Sweetwater Creation Station 400 i7, 3.4 ghz, W7 Home Premium, PT 11.3, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 & Pro 14, Focusrite Octopre Mark II, A&H GL2400/24, Event 20/20 V2's, 2-24" Video monitors, a whole buncha hard drives, 3 lava lamps AND an official "unsuck" button!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-27-2014, 09:23 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,215
Default Re: PT 11 and Focusrite Headphone Mixes

That you are then, you're system is clearly a bit more of a monster than my MBP. If that's the case, then you should be able to set up cue sends the same way you would on an analogue desk. You'll still need to utilize the Mix control to set up your outputs on your saffire device. You'll need to setup stereo outputs in Pro Tools in your i/o settings and label them appropriately.

From there, you can set up AUx sends from your tracks and assign the AUx buss output to the appropriate outputs you created in the I/o settings.. This is where things may take some tinkering. ONce that's done, go to your Mix control and set the output sections to follow the appropriate settings.

Typically DAW 1/2 is your main out, so any other out you set up will be DAW 3/4 for aux 1 , DAW 5/6 for aux 2 etc...I'm not at my rig so I'm just going from memory. Do one at a time and test them. Once you have it working Save that setup as a template in your Mix Control software.

I think you're going to run into limitations with only a Saffire 40, outs 1/2 are your monitor outs. that only leaves 3 more stereo outs.

My suggestion is that you make some of your cue sends mono if you want 6.

Goodluck, again, not at my rig right now, so I may be a little off in my setup.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2018.10, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2014, 10:34 AM
nwrstudio nwrstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: I've gone back so far ... I'm in front of me!
Posts: 94
Default Re: PT 11 and Focusrite Headphone Mixes

Thanks for the input, much appreciated!
__________________
The Freakin' Harborcreekin'
www.norwegianwoodstudio.com

Sweetwater Creation Station 400 i7, 3.4 ghz, W7 Home Premium, PT 11.3, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 & Pro 14, Focusrite Octopre Mark II, A&H GL2400/24, Event 20/20 V2's, 2-24" Video monitors, a whole buncha hard drives, 3 lava lamps AND an official "unsuck" button!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-28-2014, 11:35 AM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,215
Default Re: PT 11 and Focusrite Headphone Mixes

No Problem
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2018.10, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2015, 11:40 AM
Christian.Focusrite's Avatar
Christian.Focusrite Christian.Focusrite is offline
Focusrite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 80
Default Re: PT 11 and Focusrite Headphone Mixes

Hello nwrstudio,

dr_daw has given you the routing procedure to create your headphones mixes in PT, I'll just give a little more info on the output capabilities.

The Pro 14 has only two other line outs besides the two line outs you'll be using for monitors. So that will only give you one stereo headphone cue.

the Pro 40 Excluding the two mon outs, has 8 line outs that can be used for 4 stereo headphone cues. Most headphone amps don't have digital connections, but if you had another device that accepts adat and has analog outs you can use it for an addition 4 stereo headphone cues.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2015, 03:51 PM
nwrstudio nwrstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: I've gone back so far ... I'm in front of me!
Posts: 94
Default Re: PT 11 and Focusrite Headphone Mixes

Thank you Christian for the reply. Seeing how I run my control room monitors off of the Pro 40's 1/2 out, could I use the Pro 14's 1/2 out as another cue mix?
__________________
The Freakin' Harborcreekin'
www.norwegianwoodstudio.com

Sweetwater Creation Station 400 i7, 3.4 ghz, W7 Home Premium, PT 11.3, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 & Pro 14, Focusrite Octopre Mark II, A&H GL2400/24, Event 20/20 V2's, 2-24" Video monitors, a whole buncha hard drives, 3 lava lamps AND an official "unsuck" button!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headphone mixes paul_g 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-09-2008 08:56 AM
Headphone mixes JBT24 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-23-2005 01:03 PM
PT and headphone mixes. hbj Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-22-2003 02:51 AM
Headphone Mixes With 001 Tracy Lowery 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-16-2002 04:42 PM
C24 @ Headphone Mixes (again) nutshell ICON & C|24 2 06-23-2002 06:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com