Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2012, 09:58 AM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 170
Default PT quits every time I change an output assignment

Pro Tools unexpectedly quits every time the following occurs:

When I change the output assignment of a track that has pan automation on it.

Sometimes it gets to the alert warning me that automation will be lost if I change the output assignment, sometimes it crashes before I get the alert.

The crash also happens when I delete the pan automation before changing the output assignments.

Sometimes the the crash even happens when there is no pan automation and I am changing the OP assignments for multiple tracks to the same bus. It never happens when I select a physical output.

Here is what I am doing: I am mixing an album where guitars were recorded through multiple amps at the same time with one track per amp. I want to bus all three tracks into an aux fader. When selecting the three tracks and changing the OP to a bus the crash happens randomly.

Any help appreciated
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O

COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX (192 I/O)

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2012, 02:00 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,482
Default Re: PT quits every time I change an output assignment

Quote:
Originally Posted by fm_xtk View Post
Pro Tools unexpectedly quits every time the following occurs:

When I change the output assignment of a track that has pan automation on it.

Sometimes it gets to the alert warning me that automation will be lost if I change the output assignment, sometimes it crashes before I get the alert.

The crash also happens when I delete the pan automation before changing the output assignments.

Sometimes the the crash even happens when there is no pan automation and I am changing the OP assignments for multiple tracks to the same bus. It never happens when I select a physical output.

Here is what I am doing: I am mixing an album where guitars were recorded through multiple amps at the same time with one track per amp. I want to bus all three tracks into an aux fader. When selecting the three tracks and changing the OP to a bus the crash happens randomly.

Any help appreciated

Hi,

Does it happen in every session? Or just one. If just one try creating a new session and use import session data to import the old session into the new one.

Might need to trash All Avid and pro tools prefs user/library/ prefs


And then the old chestnut that causes many quits are your plugins all compatible and up to date? All plugins are loaded into the cache and can cause issues even if not in the session!!

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2012, 02:38 PM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 170
Default Re: PT quits every time I change an output assignment

It's been happening across all songs. I have had a reply from Waves support on another issue and they told me that I had two different Wave Shells in my system - weird since I just updated from one version to the next.

I am hopeful that this has fixed the problem.
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O

COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX (192 I/O)

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2017, 04:28 AM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: PT quits every time I change an output assignment

Have you sorted out your problem?
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2017, 05:52 AM
fm_xtk fm_xtk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 170
Default Re: PT quits every time I change an output assignment

I honestly do not remember how it was fixed but I can't remember encountering this problem in a long time (original post was from 2012).

Do you have the same problem?
__________________
2x Hackintosh X79

HD7 Accel PCIe, Magma EB7 chassis
PT 10.3.10 Mac OS 10.9.5
SSL Delta Link HD 160 I/O

COCKOS REAPER (latest)
RME MADIFX (192 I/O)

ProControl (32 channel)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artist Mix - Eucon 3.0 introduces a new output/bus assignment scheme in Pro tools 11 Emcha_audio Artist Series 1 09-24-2013 01:39 AM
Tempo change causing midi volume to change plugin output tgrfox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-05-2011 01:08 PM
Stereo outputs not showing or working in output assignment path!! crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-03-2010 11:23 AM
Output assignment bug pmklein Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 07-01-2009 05:00 PM
Structure output assignment problems Extreme Mixing Virtual Instruments 0 11-19-2007 02:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com