Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-13-2003, 07:13 PM
MAProTulz MAProTulz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 105
Default Re: stereo dialogue?

DON'T DO STEREO DIALOG! Do a stereo mix of your piece, but mix your dialog up the center from mono sources.

Stereo-izing mono dialogue tracks will just make them sound like **** when they're summed back to mono.

Dan Roth
Otitis Media
Audio - Video - Film
__________________
Dan Roth
Otitis Media
otitis-media.net
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-13-2003, 10:54 PM
vindaloo99 vindaloo99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 17
Default Re: stereo dialogue?

Dan,

What about a situation where you needed to add some light reverb to a dialog track? Would you only use the mono version of the plugin instead of the stereo version for the reason you described?

Rupert
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-14-2003, 08:20 AM
Mark Reis Mark Reis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 386
Default Re: stereo dialogue?

Just my 2¢... I certainly use mono dialog sources, but I don't keep my dialog in strictly the center channel. I do use a narrower field in most cases.

I just finished a short movie with two talking fish. The underwater processing involved a low-pass and delay routed to the surrounds which works well when mixed in with all the underwater ambience. When the fish are talking off camera, they are panned beyond 30% left or right. This is definitely a small screen movie.
__________________
Mark Reis
Sound Designer
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-14-2003, 10:54 AM
douglas roberts douglas roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 188
Default Re: stereo dialogue?

1)you can pan dialog left and right and all around the surrounds...but...I'd only do it with ADR'd lines that don't have any production sound tied to them.
2)Certainly you can add reverb or delay or anything you want, I often add reverb to voices to put them in a particular space or as a special effect, especially to dialog that was radio miked and is way too dry. I'd use the stereo version of the plug in but watch your panning of the output, too wide versus too narrow
3)Keep in mind that on a lot of location tracks for films you'll get "stereo" dialog..this usually means the boom mike on one track and the radio mike(s)on the other, how to work with them is another topic but it doesn't mean they're meant to be panned left and right
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-14-2003, 10:57 AM
douglas roberts douglas roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 188
Default Re: stereo dialogue?

1)you can pan dialog left and right and all around the surrounds...but...I'd only do it with ADR'd lines that don't have any production sound tied to them.
2)Certainly you can add reverb or delay or anything you want, I often add reverb to voices to put them in a particular space or as a special effect, especially to dialog that was radio miked and is way too dry. I'd use the stereo version of the plug in but watch your panning of the output, too wide versus too narrow
3)Keep in mind that on a lot of location tracks for films you'll get "stereo" dialog..this usually means the boom mike on one track and the radio mike(s)on the other, how to work with them is another topic but it doesn't mean they're meant to be panned left and right
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-05-2003, 11:45 AM
oldmanpotter oldmanpotter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Santa Monica, CA, USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: stereo dialogue?

You are exactly right...many people forget that if you use a stereo effects device or reverb unit, you don't have to use it in stereo mode. Often for matching ADR to production dialog, you need to add some small room reverb to the ADR, and in this case the reverb should definitely be mono since the production was mono! (If you premix or predub your dialog/ADR, it's nice to keep the reverb on its own separate track so that in the final you can make adjustments to the amount of reverb.) Finally, IMHO, panning the dialog to match the location of actors on the screen or to match perspective when the camera angle changes is just distracting to the audience. Yet, I see this being done more and more in films. I say use stereo in the dialog tracks when you want something to really jump out, like in a dream or fantasy sequence, etc. Then of course anything goes, and there's no reason not to use every speaker in the room.

Peter
__________________
It takes a big man to cry; it takes a bigger man to laugh at that man
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing when dialogue is stereo recorded pfaujas Post - Surround - Video 2 03-28-2008 01:10 PM
Dialogue and a Stereo Mix stoneinapond Post - Surround - Video 7 02-21-2008 08:34 AM
Dialogue Levels Zdenek Sychrava Post - Surround - Video 4 11-11-2007 09:47 PM
dialogue too hot? manis Post - Surround - Video 15 08-21-2007 12:54 PM
Please Help with dialogue swpowe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-26-2003 07:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com